This is the "Home" page of the "Remote Access FAQs" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Roosevelt University Logo

About the Library

Library Locations

Events

Alumni & Friends


Remote Access FAQs  

Last Updated: Mar 13, 2014 URL: http://libguides.roosevelt.edu/RemoteAccessFAQs Print Guide
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

Remote Access FAQs

Are You Having  Problems Accessing Library  Databases Off-Campus?

Check the FAQs Below

1.  Can all library databases be accessed remotely?

Most of the databases to which the library subscribes can be accessed remotely.  The library is using a software program called EZProxy to provide you with remote access to the majority of our databases.  However, you may still need to enter usernames and password for some databases.  Also, the license agreements for a few databases restrict usage to either in-library or on-campus access only. 

2.  What number should I enter in the User Authentication pop-up box?

Enter the number on your Roosevelt ID card that is written above the barcode.  It should begin with the numbers 23311, followed by a 9-digit number that begins with 9.  If it does not accept this number, call one of the Circulation Desks listed below and explain the situation to them.  They will check the library's patron database to see if you are listed.  If you are not in this database, they will check the university's Banner database to verify your status as a current faculty member or student.  They can then enter you into the library's patron database.

Chicago Campus Library Circulation Desk
312-341-3639/49
Schaumburg Campus Library Circulation Desk 
847-619-7980

4.  Can I disable cookies and still use EZProxy?

No, EZProxy requires that cookies be enabled.

5.  I am having problems accessing databases through my company's network.  What should I do?

Some corporate networks disallow access to nonstandard ports for security purposes.  EZProxy requires access to ports 2048-2247.  Check with your network administrator to see if they will allow access to these ports.

6.  Do I need to change any of my browser's settings?

You may need to change the privacy setting if it is set too high.  To check this in Internet Explorer, do the following:

  1. On the Tools menu, click Internet Options.

  2. On the Privacy tab, move the slider down to Medium or lower.

  3. Close your browser and then reopen it.

         You also may need to clear your browser cache - How to Clear Your Browsers Cache

7.  Do I need to use a different browser ?

Some websites may support one browser over another. If you use Internet Explorer or Safari as the default browser on your computer you might want to consider a couple of well known alternatives:

  1. Firefox
  2. Google Chrome

8.  I'm at my home and can't connect to EZProxy due to a port issue.  What should I do ?

EZProxy requires access to ports 2048-2247.  Contact your Internet Service Provider to see if they can configure your home network to allow access to these ports.

If you are having a problem that is not included here, please contact the Reference Desk at either campus:

Chicago Campus Library Reference Desk   
312-341-3643/44

Schaumburg Campus Library Reference Desk    
847-619-7980

or Chat with a Librarian

 Also, here is the contact information for the RU Technology Help Desk; phone number (312) 341-4357.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip