Biology: Background Info

The biological sciences cover a broad array of literature types, from younger fields like molecular biology with its reliance on recent journal articles, genomic databases, and protocol manuals to classic fields such as taxonomy with its scattered literature found in monographs and journals from the past three centuries. Using the Biological Litera

This book provides practical advice to students who are learning to write according to the conventions in biology. Using the standards of journal publication as a model, the author provides, in a user-friendly format, specific instructions on: using biology databases to locate references; developing sound reading strategies; paraphrasing for improved comprehension; writing for a particular audience with the appropriate tone; preparing lab reports or scientific papers, posters, and oral presentations with accepted format and content; self-evaluating drafts; using peer and instructor feedback for professional development; and preparing oral presentations in PowerPoint.

Includes over 4000 in-depth entries on scientific and technical terminology associated with environmental protection and resource management. In addition, it contains numerous illustrations, a wide range of international case studies and extensive cross-references to guide the reader.

This authoritative reference illustrates and describes words, concepts, acronyms and symbols for both the toxicological theory and applied risk assessment, as well as providing guidance on the correct selection of problematic, similar and frequently-misused terms. Written by one of the world's foremost experts in toxicology, and with each entry peer reviewed, Dictionary of Toxicology,

The Radiological Sciences Dictionary is a rapid reference guide for all hospital staff employed in diagnostic imaging, providing definitions of over 3000 keywords as applied to the technology of diagnostic radiology. The Radiological Sciences Dictionary is an invaluable reference for anyone training or qualified in diagnostic imaging, including radiologists, radiographers, physicists and technicians

The over 10,000 entries in this comprehensive Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology provide clear and concise definitions for anyone working in life sciences today. It incorporates related terms from neuroscience, genetics, microbiology, immunology, pathology, and physiology. The entries in this authoritative work have been widely praised for their clarity, brevity, and accuracy throughout. The Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology features numerous tables and other useful features.

Stem cells, regenerative medicine, and translational medicine, are all areas of burgeoning basic research and clinical application. This dictionary includes the fundamental terminology of each of these areas, the major discoveries and significant scientists that comprise the history and current development of the field, as well as a number of concepts.

This dictionary is intended as a guide to the terminology used in a wide range of animal-related programmes of study including agriculture, animal care, animal management, animal production, animal welfare, veterinary nursing, wildlife conservation and zoo biology. The book also includes references to important books about animals, famous animals who have starred in films or been the subject of scientific studies, along with short biographies of famous scientists and others who have studied animals or established conservation or animal welfare organisations.

This dictionary has been revised to include the definitions of over 7,000 terms from all aspects of ecology and environmental fields, including climate, pollution, waste disposal and energy conservation.

This book remains the definitive dictionary in epidemiology worldwide. It includes explanations and comments on both core epidemiologic terms and on other scientific terms relevant to all professionals in clinical medicine and public health, as well as to professionals in the other health, life, and social sciences.

In the Sage Reference Collection, the articles in this encyclopedia are written by experts on the public health issues related to disease control. Some topics covered are: ethics, genetics, population studies, risks, health care & behavior.

An A-Z Sage reference explaining and synthesizing various scientific, political and ethical viewpoints. Includes a glossary, list of scientists & resource guide with books, websites, journals and reports for further reading.

Concise Encyclopaedia of Bioinformatics and Computational Biology. The book provides definitions and often explanations of over 1000 words, phrases and concepts relating to this fast-moving and exciting field, offering a convenient, one-stop summary of the core knowledge in the area.

1,675 illustrations make this the definitive comprehensive source for rich, concise, authoritative information on the birds of North America.

This remarkable classic covers all mammals known in historical time (since ca.3000 B.C.): 1,116 genera of mammals, 4,444 different species. Contains 2,103 photographs (virtually every genus). Many new photos of rarely seen animals have been added. 115 pages of literature citations.

17 volumes containing 3,000 color photos, 3,500 maps, and 5,500 color illustrations. Coverage encompasses evolution & systematics; reproduction, development and life history; ecology; symbiosis; behavior; importance to humans; and conservation.

A comprehensive work on all aspects of insects, including their anatomy, physiology, evolution, behavior, reproduction, ecology, and disease, as well as issues of exploitation, conservation, and management.

Not since it first published in 1858 has Gray's Anatomy introduced so much innovation to the world of anatomical references. A team of renowned clinicians, anatomists, and basic scientists have radically transformed this classic resource to incorporate all of the newest anatomical knowledge. They reorganized it by body region to parallel clinical practice and added many new surface anatomy, radiologic anatomy, and microanatomy images to complement the exquisite artwork that the book is known for. A new clinical emphasis ensures relevance to everyday practice. Almost 400 new illustrations nearly 2,000 in all, over half of them in full color-depict all structures with optimal clarity, including surface anatomy, radiologic anatomy, and microanatomy.