Skip to main content
Roosevelt University in Chicago, Schaumburg and Online - Logo

Special and Focused Collections: Dempsey Travis Collection

A guide to the many special and focused collections of books, ebooks, and other resources available at the Roosevelt University Library

Dempsey Travis Collection

Dempsey TravisDempsey J. Travis was a 1949 graduate of Roosevelt University. In his lifetime he was an author, a real estate entrepreneur, a jazz musician, a civil rights pioneer, as well as a crucial backer of fellow Roosevelt alum Harold Washington's successful run for mayor of Chicago. In 2008 Roosevelt University awarded Mr. Travis a Doctor of Humane Letters degree honoris causa. Dempsey Travis passed away July 2, 2009. His estate donated a large collection of books that Mr. Travis either authored or published, which led to the creation of the library's Dempsey Travis Collection.

Books from the Dempsey Travis Collection can be found by going to the library's catalog and searching Dempsey Travis Collection as a subject, or by clicking here.

Books from the Dempsey Travis Collection:

Loading

Contact Us

By Phone

Audtorium Building 

Reference: 312-341-3643
Circulation: 312-341-3639

Schaumburg

847-619-7980

Performing Arts Library

312-341-3651



By E-Mail

Click Here to open our e-mail form; we will respond in 1 - 2 business days


By IM

Click the words Type Here to Chat in the box below to instant message an RU librarian.

Do you use AIM, Google Talk, MSN or Yahoo! to IM? Add the library as a buddy!

Screen names

  • AIM: rulibrarian
  • Google Talk: dlref@roosevelt.edu
  • MSN: dlref@roosevelt.edu
  • Yahoo!: rooseveltuniversitylibrary