Research Guides: Cell Biology: Find Articles

Top 20 Cell Biology Journals By Impact Factor

Journal impact factor is a measure of research influence. As calculated by Journal Citation Reports: Science Edition (the source of this list) , impact factor is a measure of the frequency with which the average article in a journal has been cited in a year. A higher impact factor suggests a greater impact on the research in a particular field. The impact factor for 2015 is listed after each title. Journals available through the RU Library are listed in blue (click on the blue titles to explore the journal).

Top 20 Cell Biology Journals by Impact Factor

Nature Review of Molecular Cell Biology (38.602)
Nature Medicine (30.357)
Cell (28.71)
Cancer Cell (23.214)
Cell Stem Cell (22.387)
Nature Cell Biology (18.699)
Cell Metabolism (17.303)
Science Translational Medicine (16.264)
Cell Research (14.812)
Molecular Cell (13.958)
Nature Structural & Molecular Biology (13.338)
Annual Review of Cell and Developmental Biology (12.755)
Trends in Cell Biology (11.532)
Genes & Development (10.042)
The EMBO Journal (9.643)
Developmental Cell (9.338)
Trends in Molecular Medicine (9.292)
Cold Spring Harbor Perspectives in Biology (9.173)
Autophagy (9.108)
Current Biology (8.983)

Search Science Databases

Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,300 journals internationally. It provides access to the information in virtually every life science discipline and contains nearly 13.2 million archival records from as far back as 1969, with more than 370,000 citations added each year.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text access to 550 scholarly full text journals with abstracts and indexing for more than 850 journals. Coverage of many medical disciplines, with focus on nursing and allied health.
Features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE Complete uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals. MEDLINE Complete is also the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for over 1,800 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,700 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE, and of those, over 900 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search,Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection. This wide-ranging file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index - with no embargo. With coverage dating back to 1857 and full-text back to 1865, MEDLINE Complete is the definitive research tool for medical literature.
MEDLINE with Full Text uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles (some of which are free) and other related resources.
SciFinder-n Existing User This link opens in a new window
Full access to the Chemical Abstracts database. Please register using the SciFinder New User Signup to create an account first.
SciFinder Scholar, a product of the American Chemical Society, is a graphical software package that lets you search the Chemical Abstracts Service (CASplus) and MEDLINE databases. It contains nearly 22.4 million citations from over 9,000 journals worldwide and covers the full spectrum of chemistry-related information. It provides access to patent information, conference proceedings, and the CAS Registry of chemical substances.