Skip to main content
Roosevelt University in Chicago, Schaumburg and Online - Logo

ACP 101: Finding Background Information

Researching Basics

Subject-Specific Encyclopedias/Databases

Newspapers

Blogs

BlogSearchEngine.Org:  Tool for searching many blogs including .gov, .edu, .org as well as .com sites.

Search Blog Spot:: Tool for searching blogs that are on Blogspot (a free blog creation/hosting site sponsored by Google.

Government Sources and Statistics

Use of Wikipedia

Main site: Wikipedia

How it should be used:

  • Gather background information
  • Generate search terms
  • Find other resources in bibliography/reference section

Cannot be cited because:

  • Currency (No guarantee when specific information has been updated)
  • Authority (Authors cannot be identified; not necessarily experts)
  • Point of View (Do not know if author has bias)

Popular Magazines

Magazines on Google: Some popular magazines found on Google.

Nonprofit Organization and NGOs

Great Nonprofits Near Me: You can see a list and descriptions of nonprofits in Chicago. When you have located the organization you want, find the site on the Web.

Worldwide NGO Directory: Find NGOs by searching the country and area of activity. When you have found the desired NGO, you can find their site on the Web.

An alphabetical list of NGOs in the United States

Sources for Food Issues

Food First: Exploring Myths & Inspiring Change: Website (also known as the Institute for Food and Development Policy) for a nonprofit organization that uses education, research and action to end injustices that cause hunger.

Public Health & Social Justice: Website containing articles and slide shows about many topics (including genetically-modified organisms, food irradiation, agricultural antibiotics, food justice, and sustainable agriculture.

Pop Culture Resources

Film & Television Literature Index: Film & Television Literature Index™ is the definitive index to film and television literature. It is a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications (and selected coverage of 300).

IMDB: Information and news about movies, TV shows, celebrities, and more.

Kanopy Streaming Video: On-demand streaming video of over 26,000 films. Kanopy offers many award-winning collecgtions including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.

Know Your Meme: Website for memes, videos, forums, etc. about pop culture topics. There is an indication whether or not the memes have been confirmed.

Memes.com: Searchable, and organized by Featured, Random, Most Popular, and Community.

Pop Culture Universe: Pop Culture Universe: Icon, Idols, Ideas' is a combined digital library of books, book chapters, encyclopedia entries, and images on American and world popular culture from the 1920s to the present. An authoritative resource for all levels of researchers, Pop Culture Universe advances the study of popular culture and popular history. Search a variety of subject areas ranging from business, fashion, TV, music, literature, sports, youth culture, or search by time periods, people, or places

Twitter: Home site where you can find what is trending in Sports, News, Music, Entertainment, Lifestyle, and more. There is also a search feature.

YouTube: Home page for searching archived or trending videos.

 

Evaluating Websites

1. Websites must be evaluated