Taking into account technological developments, this edition of a classic guide (last, 1989; first, 1967) to theatrical scenery and lighting practices in the US adds some 200 terms and new equipment illustrations. Lists manufacturers and distributors.
he Handbook of Stage Lightingis a journey of exploration into the heart of the fascinating world that paints pictures and tells stories with the most basic of all materials—light. In this comprehensive guide, authors Neil Fraser and Simon Bennison bring to a clear and persuasive text a shared expertise and an inspirational joy in their subject.
An index of 114 books and journals featuring photographs of 20th- century theatrical sets, renderings, and models of theater and opera productions. Publications indexed include books on theater history, scenic design, and stagecraft, as well as design exhibition catalogs and material on specific designers or types of productions. Includes some material on designs for dance if they are part of a significant designer's output. Contains a bibliography alphabetized by reference codes, and a production index organized alphabetically by title.
The New Grove Dictionary of American Musicis the most comprehensive and enlightening history of America's musical heritage ever published.
American Groveis focused solely on the unique styles and traditions of American music. It covers popular musical forms such as country, rock, pop, soul, folk, blues, jazz, bluegrass, and big band. It explores America's vibrant classical heritage--from colonial times to John Cage--and also provides substantial articles on the traditional music of diverse cultures such as Native Americans, Jewish Americans, and Islamic Americans.
In order to incorporate new information into Bordman's reference without the volume filling up with gaps or becoming too heavy to lift, playwright Hischak (State U. of New York-Cortland) has shortened and combined existing entries rather than dropping them entirely whenever possible. More plays, musical, and people are included, but also new entries on such topics as Asian American theater, gay and lesbian theater, the redevelopment of 42nd Street, solo performances, road tours, AIDS, participatory theater events, and various New York theater companies. Entries of plays include plot summaries and sample reception.
From the silver screen to the Great White Way, small community theatres to television sets, the musical has long held a special place in America's heart and history. Now, in The Oxford Companion to the American Musical, readers who flocked to the movies to see An American in Paris or Chicago, lined up for tickets to West Side Story or Rent, or crowded around their TVs to watch Cinderella or High School Musical can finally turn to a single book for details about them all. For the first time, this popular subject has an engaging and authoritative book as thrilling as the performances themselves. With more than two thousand entries, this illustrated guide offers a wealth of information on musicals, performers, composers, lyricists, producers, choreographers, and much more. Biographical entries range from early stars Fred Astaire, Bing Crosby, Mary Martin, and Mae West to contemporary show-stoppers Nathan Lane, Savion Glover, and Kristin Chenoweth, while composers Irving Berlin, George Gershwin, Richard Rodgers, and Andrew Lloyd Webber all have articles, and the choreography of Bob Fosse, Tommy Tune, and Debbie Allen receives due examination. The plays and films covered range from modern hits like Mamma Mia! and Moulin Rouge! to timeless classics such as Yankee Doodle Dandy and Show Boat. Also, numerous musicals written specifically for television appear throughout, and many entries follow a work-Babes in Toyland for example-as it moves across genres, from stage, to film, to television. The Companion also includes cross references, a comprehensive listing of recommended recordings and further reading, a useful chronology of all the musicals described in the book, plus a complete index of Tony Award and Academy Award winners. Whether you are curious about Singin' in the Rain or Spamalot, or simply adore The Wizard of Oz or Grease, this well-researched and entertaining resource is the first place to turn for reliable information on virtually every aspect of the American musical.
Contact Us (long)
Performing Arts Library
Click Here to open our e-mail form; we will respond in 1 - 2 business days