Research Guides: Math 389/ACP 250: Finding Statistics and Background Information

Online Statistics

Dave Leip's Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections

Federal Election Committee (FEC) Statistics for the 2016 Presidential, U.S. Senate, and U.S. House elections. There are also comparative statistics for the Presidential general elections from 2004 to 2016.

Illinois State Board of Elections Results for 2016

Ballotpedia: Presidential election statistics by state, 2016.

Blog:

Electoral-vote.com: Created by computer scientist Andrew S. Tanenbaum to predict the outcome of U.S. elections

Newspapers

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides selected full text for more than 20 national and international newspapers and over 398 regional U.S. newspapers.
Features full text of radio and television news transcripts as well as indexing and abstracts for many other national newspapers.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full-text access from 1980 to present.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of 80 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition) This link opens in a new window
Considered to be the preeminent publication for business news and information on financial markets worldwide. Full-text access for 1984 to present.

Popular Magazines

Magazines on Google: Some popular magazines found on Google.

Use of Wikipedia

Main site: Wikipedia

How it should be used:

Gather background information
Generate search terms
Find other resources in the bibliography/reference section

Cannot be cited because:

Currency (No guarantee when specific information has been updated)
Authority (Authors cannot be identified; not necessarily experts)
Point of View (Do not know if the author has bias)

Check for understanding