Focus your search for data on the specifics of your project.
Does you project focus on a specific/special population?
Access the government office or any organization concerned with that population to look for data.
For example, for health data on Veterans visit the US Department of Veteran Affairs website which compiles and makes available a range of data related to the health of this population (http://www.va.gov/vetdata/)
Is there an organization/government office dedicated to your disease/condition/health
indicator of interest?
Consult the organization/departments website to look for links to data.
For example, the National Cancer Institute compiles and makes readily available data related to Cancer as a specific disease state (http://seer.cancer.gov/).
For example, the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases compiles data about diabetes and related conditions and health indicators (http://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/health-statistics/Pages/default.aspx).
Access state and metropolitan level data on chronic diseases and risk factors. Each indicator is described in detail. The site contains tools to create customized comparison reports making
it easy to compare indicators across regions.
FastStats provides quick access to data from the National Center for Health Statistics. Topics include diseases and conditions, injuries, life stages and populations, health care and insurance, births, and deaths. The data readily available on the site is primarily national in scope, however, each topic area contains a “More Data” section that provides links to related data reports that often contain regional or state level data. Additionally, a “Related Links” section in each topic profile provides one-click access to relevant additional resources including data surveys and agency websites.
PHP provides links to a wide range of reports that include county, local, state and national health data. It is a “gateway” to public health data as it links to sources from a variety of organizations.
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
HSR Information Central is not an index of all health services resources on the Web. Rather, it contains selective links representing a sample of available information. Items are selected by the National Library of Medicine and NIH for their quality, authority of authorship, uniqueness, and appropriateness.
WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.
Produced by the National Center for Health Statistics, Health, United States is an annual report on trends in health statistics including data on diseases and conditions, rick factors, health disparities and much more.
This easily “searchable” report explores trends in the effectiveness of care, patient safety, timeliness of care, patient centeredness and efficiency of care. Information on specific disease states and conditions is included. While the data/statistics in the report itself are national all sources are referenced and most original data sources are linked, so you can easily navigate to the original report and access regional data.
The Health and Nutrition Section from the Federal Census presents statistics on health expenditures and insurance coverage, including Medicare and Medicaid, medical personnel, hospitals, nursing homes and other care facilities, injuries, diseases, disability status, nutritional intake of the population, and food consumption.