Last Updated: Mar 26, 2013
Research Tips and Tools
Are you just getting started on your research? Would you like help forming your research question, or evaluating your sources? Visit the Research Tips and Tools Guide.
Online Research Tutorial
If you're not sure where to begin, take a look at our Online Research Tutorial!
Do you want to know if your materials are scholarly or popular?
There are several different types of information. This guide will help you determine what type of article you've found, or what you might need.
Use the sources to find background information on your research topic, or reference information. These are also great resources to use if you're trying to select a research topic. These databases all provide credible information, however they are not scholarly journal articles. For scholarly articles try the sources listed in the box to the right.
- Facts On File - Issues & Controversies
Full text essays on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day. A dependable online source of up-to-date, in-depth and objective information. Allows keyword searching of full text on any topic.
- CQ Researcher
Explores a single current events topic in depth each week. Reports range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, science and technology. Objective and balanced, reports feature comments, pro and con, from all sides of an issue.
- Credo Reference
Credo Reference is an online collection of many reference books covering a wide variety of subjects, with entries covering such subjects as medicine, art, technology, law and more, all aggregated and integrated in a robust search engine.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
An online full-text collection of valuable reference books in multiple subject areas; includes many multidisciplinary reference e-books, including some with primary source documents; can be browsed by subject or searched by keyword.
- Sage eReference General Search
Provides access to many encyclopedias in a variety of academic disciplines, including Criminology & Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Geography, History, Social Issues, and Sociology.
Begin your research in the multi-disciplinary databases listed here which search scholarly journals and some popular news sources. For more advanced researchers, choose subject-specific databases from our subject-specific research guides.
- Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for more than 4,600 scholarly journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
- Academic One File
Provides a combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full text for scholarly and general interest journals embracing all academic disciplines. Offers citations to articles in nearly 14,000 indexed titles, including more than 10,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,500 in full-text.
- Expanded Academic ASAP
Expanded Academic ASAP offers balanced coverage of every academic concentration – from advertising and microbiology to history and women's studies. More than 5,300 indexed & 3,000 full-text titles & more than 3,800 peer-reviewed journals.
- Wilson OmniFile Full Text Select
A multidisciplinary, 100% full-text database providing every article published in more than 2,700 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, across many disciplines, including Education Full Text.
Begin your research by browsing newspaper stories past and present. These databases are for newspaper articles and editorials.
- ProQuest Newsstand
The core of the database is the Major Newspapers collection, which includes national and leading regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal- Constitution, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Guardian, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post.
- Newspaper Source
Provides selected full text for 23 national and international newspapers and over 180 regional U.S. newspapers, including the Chicago Tribune back to 1997.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic: General Search
Provides searchable access to a comprehensive spectrum of full-text information from over 5,600 sources, selected to meet academic needs covering news, business, legal, medical, reference resources.
- Today's Front Pages
A Flash-based tool that allows one to browse newspaper front pages from all over the USA and across the globe, presented by newseum.org
Click Here to open our e-mail form; we will respond in 1 - 2 business days
By Chat (Instant Message)
Click the words Type Here to Chat in the box below to instant message an RU librarian.
Performing Arts Library 312-341-3651