This is the "Home" page of the "Box repository" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Roosevelt University Logo

About the Library

Library Locations

Events

Alumni & Friends


Box repository  

Last Updated: Nov 9, 2013 URL: http://libguides.roosevelt.edu/content.php?pid=25470 Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search the RU Catalog

 

IM a Librarian Box

Got a link?

 

Search for Encyclopedia Entries

Gale Virtual Reference Library
 

IM Katy

 

Database Search Tips

Here are some tips to help you search. If you need more help, click the "contact us" button above.

Keep it simple! Good search terms are usually one word (i.e., autism) or one very simple phrase (i.e., global warming). Don't search sentences or long phrases all in one search box (i.e., effects of global warming, fast food industry in the US, etc.).

Start by identifying the main concepts in your topic. What 2-4 words or simple phrases are most important?

Many of the article databases start you on a screen with 3 search boxes. Use those simple words or phrases you came up with to fill the boxes. Try putting just one word/phrase in each box. If the database only shows you one box, go ahead and put all the words together.

Take a look at your results. Are the articles useful? Did the words/phrases you used seem to get you what you need, or do you need to try some new terms instead?

Play around with your search terms. Even if you found good articles, you might be able to find more with new words.

 

How do I get my articles?

If you need articles right away:

  • Many of the databases offer full-text materials. Once you've selected a database and run a search, scan the results to find articles with full text, which may come in either html or PDF format.
  • Many databases will allow you to limit your search results only to those with full text. Using this option, you will get the full text of the articles in html or PDF, but please be aware that you are limiting your search and might be missing useful information on your topic.
  • If the database you are using does not offer the full article, you may be able to check to see if another RU database has it. Look for a "360 Link to Full Text" button.  Clicking this link will lead you toward the article if we own an electronic version or provide suggestions for obtaining it another way.  Please note that while we have full text access to many articles, we do not have full text access to ALL articles.

  • When doing a subject search, many online resources offer an option to limit your search to full text articles only. Be careful using this feature as it could eliminate articles that you might be able to obtain right away using the "Get Article" option.
  • If you can wait a bit, you can request your article through a service called Interlibrary Loan, or ILLiad.  Read more about creating an ILLiad account, and requesting articles by visiting the ILLiad guide.
 

How do I get articles if they are unavailable?

The item I want is not available in the Roosevelt University Library. How do I get it?

Articles

  • ILLiad
    • Use your ILLiad account to submit article requests, view received articles, and track current and past requests for articles. If an article is not available in one of the library's databases or collections, you can submit a request directly from the database - ILLiad will fill out the request form automatically
 

ProQuest Search Box

 

ProQuest Social Science Journals Search Widget

 

PAL chat widget

 

Contact Us (long)

By Phone

Audtorium Building 

Reference: 312-341-3643
Circulation: 312-341-3639

Schaumburg

847-619-7980

Performing Arts Library

312-341-3651


By E-Mail

Click Here to open our e-mail form; we will respond in 1 - 2 business days


By IM

Click the words Type Here to Chat in the box below to instant message an RU librarian.

Do you use AIM, Google Talk, MSN or Yahoo! to IM? Add the library as a buddy!

Screen names

  • AIM: rulibrarian
  • Google Talk: dlref@roosevelt.edu
  • MSN: dlref@roosevelt.edu
  • Yahoo!: rooseveltuniversitylibrary

Contact Us (sm)

 

Access from off campus

To access library resources from off-campus you need your Library ID: 

23311+ your 9 digit personal ID number

If you have problems, see our Remote Access FAQ or contact the Library.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip