Research Guides: African American Studies: Additional Info

Select Web Resources for African-American Studies

This page contains African-American resources on the Web. If you have more suggestions on other websites that should be here, please contact me!

Documenting the American South
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
North American Slave Narratives.
Library of Congress Slave Narratives
W.E.B. Du Bois Institute
Named after the first African American to receive a Ph.D. from Harvard University (1895), the idea for the W. E. B. Du Bois Institute for African and African American Research was proposed in the Report of the Faculty Committee on African and Afro-American Studies dated 20 January 1969
Freedom Riders
FREEDOM RIDERS is the powerful harrowing and ultimately inspirational story of six months in 1961 that changed America forever. From May until November 1961, more than 400 black and white Americans risked their lives—and many endured savage beatings and imprisonment—for simply traveling together on buses and trains as they journeyed through the Deep South.
The Black Metropolis Research Consortium
To make broadly accessible its members' holdings of materials that document African American and African diasporic culture, history, and politics, with a specific focus on materials relating to Chicago.
CARLI Digital Collections - African American Studies
To begin select: Collections by topic/African American Studies. CARLI Digital Collections was established in 2006 as a repository for digital content created by member libraries of the Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI) or purchased by the consortium for use by its members.
African Journals Online
African Journals OnLine (AJOL) is the world's largest and pre-eminent collection of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals.
Historically, scholarly information has flowed from North to South and from West to East. It has also been difficult for African researchers to access the work of other African academics.
In partnership with hundreds of journals from all over the continent, AJOL works to change this, so that African-origin research output is available to Africans and to the rest of the world.

AJOL is a Non-Profit Organisation based in South Africa.

African-American History Sources

Black History

An interactive website from biography.com. Research African-American figures from the past to now. Videos, timelines, biographies and facts galore!

Du Sable Museum of African-American History

The DuSable Museum of African American History, the first and oldest institution of its kind in the country, has been dedicated to the collection, preservation, interpretation and dissemination of the history and culture of Africans and Americans of African descent.

Blackpast.org

BlackPast.org, an online reference center makes available a wealth of materials on African American history in one central location on the Internet.

Black Studies In Video

Black Studies in Video is a signature Alexander Street Press collection featuring award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States.

In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides unique access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations