About reference e-books
The library provides online access to electronic versions of many reference books, including general resources such as Encyclopedia Brittanica and specific encyclopedias, almanacs, and dictionaries. You have the option of searching an entire collection of reference books using the general search options listed here, or you can search within specific reference books.
Note to off-campus users: when clicking a link to an online reference book, you may be prompted to log in using your Roosevelt ID number; be sure to use your entire ID number, starting with 23311.
Citation help
- Writing and Citation GuideThis Research Guide provides tips and resources for citing sources using MLA, APA, and other citation styles.
Reference e-books - finance
Specialized reference books are a good place to start your research. The following is a list of reference sources in finance available through the RU Library's website.
Off-campus users will be prompted to enter their RU ID number, starting with 23311.
- Dun & Bradstreet Key Business Ratios
A standard source for finding financial ratios, D & B Key Business Ratios analyzes US companies, both public and private, using 14 ratios for about 800 SIC codes. - Value Line Investment Survery
Online version of the print resource. Provides "snapshot" profiles for 3,500 companies and 100 industries. - Barron's Dictionary of Finance and Investment Terms
This edition covers the 20th century's major developments in investments, taxation, economics, consumer and corporate finance, and related fields. It defines and clarifies the language that will be used in financial decision-making in the new millennium. - Wall Street Words
An A to Z Guide to Investment Terms for Today's Investor. It also contains more than 100 case studies illustrating real-world investment examples plus 50 insightful tips from industry professionals. - Webster's New World Finance and Investment DictionaryThis book includes definitions of all of the concepts, phrases, and jargon you need to understand everything from CNBC and the financial pages to corporate earnings reports.
- Business Rankings AnnualProvides "top ten" rankings of companies, products, services, and business-related activities compiled from a variety of published sources.
- Encyclopedia of American IndustriesProvides detailed, comprehensive information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business.
- Manufacturing & Distribution USA : Industry Analyses, Statistics and Leading CompaniesPresents statistics on numerous NAICS classifications in the manufacturing, wholesaling and retail industries. Compiled from the most recent government publications. Covers input-output data by industrial sector when available as well as classifications of leading public and private corporations in each industry.
Reference e-books - general
Off-campus users will be prompted to enter their RU ID number, starting with 23311.
- Sage eReference General Search
Provides access to many encyclopedias in a variety of academic disciplines, including Criminology & Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Geography, History, Social Issues, and Sociology. - Gale Virtual Reference Library
The Gale Virtual Reference Library is an online full-text collection of valuable reference books in multiple subject areas. This collection includes many multidisciplinary reference e-books, including some with primary source documents. - Credo Reference
Credo Reference is an online collection of many reference books covering a wide variety of subjects, with entries covering such subjects as medicine, art, technology, law and more, all aggregated and integrated in a robust search engine. - Encyclopedia Britannica
In addition to the complete online encyclopedia, features online versions of Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia, Britannica World Atlas, and Britannica Year in Review.
Need help?
Contact us
By Phone
Audtorium Building
Reference: 312-341-3643
Circulation: 312-341-3639
Schaumburg
847-619-7980
Performing Arts Library
312-341-3651
Gage Library
312-341-3198
By E-Mail
Click Here to open our e-mail form; we will respond in 1 - 2 business days
Description
Loading content... please wait




