Books at RooseveltBooks from Other LibrariesDissertations @ RU
This is the "Quick Search" page of the "Searching: Getting Started" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Roosevelt University Logo

About the Library

Library Locations

Events

Alumni & Friends


Searching: Getting Started   Tags: search_tips, searches, searching, start  

This guide offers places to start your research quickly and tips to help you get the most from your searches.
Last Updated: Jul 3, 2014 URL: http://libguides.roosevelt.edu/startingresearch Print Guide RSS Updates

Quick Search Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search the RU Catalog

 

Search Tips

Here are some tips to help you search. If you need more help, use our contact info to the right.

Keep it simple! Good search terms are usually one word (i.e., autism) or one very simple phrase (i.e., global warming). Don't search sentences or long phrases all in one search box (i.e., effects of global warming, fast food industry in the US, etc.).

Start by identifying the main concepts in your topic. What 2-4 words or simple phrases are most important?

Many of the article databases start you on a screen with 3 search boxes. Use those simple words or phrases you came up with to fill the boxes. Try putting just one word/phrase in each box. If the database only shows you one box, go ahead and put all the words together.

Take a look at your results. Are the articles useful? Did the words/phrases you used seem to get you what you need, or do you need to try some new terms instead?

Play around with your search terms. Even if you found good articles, you might be able to find more with new words.

 

Article Search

Find Articles from Magazines & Scholarly Journals


Search for Articles

 


Use this search box to find articles from scholarly, academic journals as well as popular magazines and newspapers

Multi-Subject Search Tools

These tools are simple ways to get started with your searching. They are easy to use and will give you access to quality materials!

  • Wilson OmniFile Select
    This is another large, multi-subject article database with both scholarly and popular materials. It too has lots of full text articles available.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
  • Sage Journals
    Sage Journals provides online full-text access to more than 485 scholarly journals in business, humanities, medicine, science, social sciences, and technology. Coverage varies from the first date of publication through present or from 1999 through present.
 

Contact Us

Need help with your searching? Just ask a librarian!

 

Send us an email.

Call us at 312-341-3644 (DT) or 847-619-7980 (SCH).

Stop by and ask us a question Downtown or in Schaumburg.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip