Research Guides: Company and Industry Research: Business News & Scholarly Articles

Business News

Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition) This link opens in a new window
Considered to be the preeminent publication for business news and information on financial markets worldwide. Full-text access for 1984 to present.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of 80 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Investor's Business Daily
A national business and financial newspaper with a circulation of 311,000 that covers all the major business and economic news of the day.
Crain's Chicago Business
Feature articles, business profiles, interviews, financial information, thematic issues and timely news of note for business executives and managers in metro Chicago.
Financial Times
A daily international newspaper and web site providing extensive news, comment and analysis on business, finance, and related topics for executives in global business. 30 day full text delay due to publisher restrictions ("embargo").

Find Business Articles

Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text coverage of top business, management and economics journals and periodicals. These valuable publications cover topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales and more.
Wilson OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary, 100% full-text database providing every article published in more than 2,700 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, across many disciplines, including Education Full Text.
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
Provides access to several databases including the Chicago Tribune, Wall Street Journal, PAIS, Criminal Justice Abstracts, and Social Services Abstracts.
Nature This link opens in a new window
Nature is an academic publishing company created by the May 2015 merger of Springer Science+Business Media and Holtzbrinck Publishing Group's Nature Publishing Group, Palgrave Macmillan, and Macmillan Education.
Note: Many citations will not provide immediate full text access. In this case, you will need to request the item via ILLiad Interlibrary Loan (for articles) or the I-Share book catalog (for books).

More News Sources & General Information

NAICS Classification Manual (REF HF1042.N67 2002) is a guide to the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) of industrial and manufacturing codes. The system has been gradually replacing the SIC classification system. The U.S. Census has a keyword-searchable version.

Standard Industrial Classification Manual (REF HF1042.S73 1987) offers a breakdown of the SIC codes, a way to classify businesses by types of products and services.

Yahoo! Finance: Look up stock quotes and up-to-the minute news reports for US companies.

The Street: Focuses on helping users "make informed investment decisions", with stock quotes, data analysis, news, earnings, reports, etc.

CNN Money: Business, financial, & personal finance news.

MarketWatch: Stock market quotes, business news, & financial news.

RealClearMarkets: Market-related news, analysis, and commentary.

Dismal Scientist: Economic & market analysis both in brief and in depth. A product of Moody's Analytics.

Bloomberg/Business Week - Company Insight Center: Investing & Stock Research.

Campbell R. Harvey's Hypertextual Finance Glossary: "...if you look beyond the clunky name, there is a wealth of information here. This is a great place to look for a quick definition of a financial term you've never heard of or to quickly check an acronym." (Ross, C. (2013). Making Sense of Reference. Chicago: ALA.)

Faculty Publications - HCB

Recent writings by current & former faculty in the RU Heller College of Business (since 2008).

Sofia Dermisi: Performance of downtown Chicago’s office buildings before and after their LEED Existing Buildings’ certification
An article in a 2013 issue of the Real Estate Finance Journal.
John McDonald: The Q theory of investment, the capital asset pricing model and the capitalization rate in real estate valuation
An article in a 2010 issue of Applied Financial Economics.
Ralph Haug: A Failed Differentiation Strategy with a Sweet Approach
An article in a 2010 issue of the Journal of International Diversity.
Thomas Head: Global Organization Structural Design: Speculation and a Call for Action
An article in a 2010 issue of Organization Development Journal.
Carl Witte: An Empirical Investigation of Framing Effects in Negotiations: A Study of Single-Family Home Sales.
An article in a 2008 issue of Psychology & Marketing.

Faculty Publications - Other Colleges

Recent business-related articles, books, & eBooks authored by current RU faculty (since 2010).

Evgeny Dantsin and Alexander Wolpert: Exponential complexity of satisfiability testing for linear-size Boolean formulas.
In Proceedings of the 8th International Conference on Algorithms and Complexity, CIAC 2013, volume 7878 of Lecture Notes in Computer Science, pages 110-121. Springer, 2013.
Jim Cicarelli: Economic Thought Among American Aboriginals Prior to 1492
An article in a 2012 issue of American Journal of Economics & Sociology.
Victoria Brown: The Writing on the (Facebook) Wall: The Use of Social Networking Sites in Hiring Decisions.
An article in a 2011 issue of the Journal of Business and Psychology.
Thomas Kersten: Plan Now To Prepare For Your Retirement
An article in a 2011 issue of the Kappa Delta Pi Record.
Paul Green: Responsible and Responsive Public Governance
An article in a 2010 issue of PA Times that focuses upon the DuPage Airport Authority in DuPage County.
Carol Brown & Debra Orr: Influential DNA: A study of prominent women and their impact on the field of organization development
An article in a 2010 issue of Organization Development Journal.