Last Updated: Oct 31, 2013
Try searching one or a combination of the following keywords in the databases:
Evidence based medicine
Want to make sure you're using the best information for your research? The best academic papers rely primarily on scholarly information. If your information does not come from a scholarly source, you will need to evaluate your sources to make sure they are worth using in your paper.
You can begin your search here. This search box automatically searches Health Source (Consumer Edition), Health Source (Nursing/Academic Edition), and Consumer Health Complete.
Note: if you are off campus you will be asked to provide your 14 digit RU ID beginning with 23311
- MedLine with Full Text
provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles (some of which are free) and other related resources.
- SciFinder Scholar - Registration Required (see below)
Use the Online Registration link below that is specified for Roosevelt users to sign up to use this service. For instructions on how to register for your account see SciFinder Scholar Online Registration Instructions.
For more information about SciFinder Scholar, see https://scifinder.cas.org/
- American Chemical Society
The American Chemical Society is the leading publisher of more than 40 peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences, serving scientific communities worldwide through an unparalleled commitment to quality, reliability, and innovation.
- Biological Abstracts
Complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,300 journals internationally. It provides access to the information in virtually every life science discipline and contains nearly 13.2 million archival records from as far back as 1969, with more than 370,000 citations added each year.
- JAMA - Journal of the American Medical Association
JAMA, published continuously since 1883, is an international peer-reviewed general medical journal published 48 times per year. JAMA is the most widely circulated medical journal in the world.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This database provides full text access to 550 scholarly full text journals with abstracts and indexing for more than 850 journals. Coverage of many medical disciplines, with focus on nursing and allied health.
- Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 4,515 scholarly journals, including more than 3,630 peer-reviewed titles.
- Academic OneFile
Provides a combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full text for scholarly and general interest journals embracing all academic disciplines. Offers citations to articles in 8,000 scholarly journal titles, nearly 4,000 of which afford full text.
- Lexis Nexis Academic Universe
Provides searchable access to a comprehensive spectrum of full-text information from over 5,600 sources, selected to meet academic needs covering news, business, legal, medical, reference resources. Includes: National and regional newspapers, U.S. Federal and state case law; Shepard’s® Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases; and business news journals, company financial information, etc.
To access library resources from off-campus you need your Library ID:
23311+ your 9 digit personal ID number
If you have problems, see our Remote Access FAQ or contact the Library.