This is the "Home" page of the "Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Roosevelt University Logo

About the Library

Library Locations

Events

Alumni & Friends


Provides descriptive information for finding, understanding, and citing court decisions, statutes, and judicial opinions.
Last Updated: Oct 7, 2014 URL: http://libguides.roosevelt.edu/law Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Start Here

Study


Welcome to the Guide to Basic Legal Research!

 
Where to find the legal resources in print at the RU library:

Most of the print sources in the Roosevelt University Library's collection are kept in the downtown campus library. Many of the print resources are reference books (marked REF in the call number in our catalog) and can only be used in the library. The legal resources are shelved in the room behind the circulation, reference and computer lab area on the 10th floor.

Quick Links to this Guide

 

American Civil Liberties Union E-Books

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Quick searches



Search Google Scholar



Google Scholar will link our Library Links to articles. Look for... 
"Full-Text @ My Library"


Search Law Databases

If you would like to do a quick article search for law related articles, type your keyword in the box below. For a more robust search, please visit the Find Articles tab above to access individual article databases. 

Law Quick Search
Limit results to Peer Reviewed Articles
      

    Major Research Database: LexisNexis

    LexisNexis is your source to go to for case law, and searching by citation, parties, or topic. Try its "Combined Search" to look in Law Reviews:  a very scholarly way to add a legal angle to a research paper.

    • Lexis Nexis Academic Universe  
        
      Provides searchable access to a comprehensive spectrum of full-text information from more than 10,000 sources, selected to meet academic needs covering news, business, legal, medical, reference resources.
     

    Featured Resource: Crime in the United States

    Cover Art
    Crime in the United States 2013 - Shana Hertz-Hattis (Editor)
    Call Number: E-Book
    Publication Date: 2013
    This reference, formerly published by the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), is a comprehensive collection of the nation's criminal statistics. It provides the latest data submitted by city, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement agencies.

     

    Selected Books in Law

    Cover Art
    The Legal Research and Writing Handbook - Andrea B. Yelin; Hope Viner Samborn
    Call Number: AUD REF KF240 .Y45 2006
    Complete, and easy to use, Yelin & Samborn craft their text to lead paralegal students to success. Provides clear coverage of every step of the research and writing process.

    Cover Art
    Polisi v. Clark and Parker and Gould: Advanced Case File - Anthony J. Bocchino; Frank D. Rothschild; David A. Sonenshein
    Call Number: AUD REF & FOLIO KF8925.D5 B63 2001
    A publication of the National Institute for Trial Advocacy, this work is concerned with trial practice as it relates to sexual discrimination against women.

     

    Recently Added Books

    Loading Loading...
    blank padding
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip