This is the "Find articles" page of the "Social Justice Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Roosevelt University Logo

About the Library

Library Locations

Events

Alumni & Friends


Social Justice Studies  

Last Updated: Dec 2, 2014 URL: http://libguides.roosevelt.edu/socialjustice Print Guide RSS Updates

Find articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Suggested keywords

Try searching one or a combination of the following keywords in the databases:

(please ask a librarian for assistance with identifying additional topics)

Abortion
Abused women
Aging
Bullying
Civil liberties
Civil Rights Movement
Child abuse
Climate change
Discrimination
Domestic violence
Ecology
Equality
Feminism
Freedom of speech
Global warming
Health insurance
Homelessness
Human rights
Humane treatment of animals
Hunger issues
Hybrid vehicles
Identity politics
Illegal immigration
Income distribution
Legalizing marijuana
Police integrity
Poverty
Racism
Raising consciousness
Restorative justice
Right of assembly
Same-sex marriage
Sexism
Social change
Social conditions
Social history
Social problems
Substance abuse
Teenage pregnancy
Transformational service learning
Vegetarianism
Wrongful convictions
Zero tolerance

Find Scholarly Articles

These databases will also be useful for gathering scholarly information in researching social justice topics.

If you are off campus you will have to provide your full 14 digit RU ID number beginning with 23311.

  • Wilson OmniFile Full Text Select
    A multidisciplinary, 100% full-text database providing every article published in more than 2,700 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, across many disciplines, including Education Full Text.
  • ProQuest Social Science Journals
    This database includes over 535 titles, with more than 310 available in full text. Disciplines represented range from anthropology, sociology, political science to communication, education, criminology, demography, economics and more.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
  • Sage Journals
    Sage Journals provides online full-text access to more than 485 scholarly journals in business, humanities, medicine, science, social sciences, and technology. Coverage varies from the first date of publication through present or from 1999 through present.
  • Project MUSE
    Project MUSE Standard Collection offers full text access to current peer-reviewed content from over 270 interdisciplinary, prestigious humanities and social science journals.
  • Global Issues in Context
    This database explores broad current events and controversial topics from a global perspective. Information is arranged in topical “portals," providing a wide range of materials to round out your research.
  • GreenFILE  
      
    Collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles including all aspects of human impact to the environment such as global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, etc.
  • LGBT Life with Full Text
    LGBT Life with Full Text contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 120 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers.
  • Women’s Studies International
    Women’s Studies International, produced by NISC, covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 871,000 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to present.
  • JSTOR  
      
    JSTOR provides students with exposure to peer reviewed scholarly research with a reference resource of over 1,500 academic journals and other content.
  • Google Scholar  
      
    This link to Google Scholar connects you to the full-text of articles provided through RU Library journal subscriptions.
    Look for... "Full-Text @ My Library"
  • Sociological Abstracts
    The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications.

Find Newspaper Articles

Use these databases to find newspaper articles that add storylines, color, and wit to your social justice research.  Newspaper features include interviews, opinion pieces, product reviews, sports, entertainment, travel, business, and current events reporting.

  • Newsstand | ProQuest
    The core of the database is the Major Newspapers collection, which includes national and leading regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Chicago Defender, Crain's Chicago Business, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal- Constitution, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Guardian, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post.
  • Lexis Nexis Academic Universe  
      
    Provides searchable access to a comprehensive spectrum of full-text information from more than 10,000 sources, selected to meet academic needs covering news, business, legal, medical, reference resources.
  • New York Times
    America's newspaper of record, containing "All the News That's Fit to Print". Full-text access from 1980 to present.
  • Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition)
    Considered to be the preeminent publication for business news and information on financial markets worldwide. Full-text access for 1984 to present.
  • Chicago Tribune
    Complete full-text of Chicago Tribune from 1989 to date.
 

Access from off campus

To access library resources from off-campus you need your Library ID: 

23311+ your 9 digit personal ID number

If you have problems, see our Remote Access FAQ or contact the Library.

Political Opinion Magazine Archives

The following opinion magazines may be searched by clicking on "Search within this publication" in the upper right corner.

  • The Nation Archive
    Includes all issues since 1975. A journal of politics, economics, education, foreign policy, labor, law and other social issues, literature and the arts.
  • The New Republic Archive
    Includes all issues since 1990. Presents articles in the format of reports and essays, with topics ranging from politics and economics to literature and cinema.
  • The National Review Archive
    Includes all issues since 1975. Provides first hand reports on national, international, and cultural affairs with focus on Washington and other political hot spots.
  • The Reason Archive
    Reason is a Freely Accessible Journal. Includes all issues since 1971. Articles and interviews that explore the ideas and issues of individual liberty; the magazine of free minds and free markets.
  • The Dissent Archive
    Includes all issues since 1995. Features reflective articles about politics in the U.S., incisive social & cultural commentary, plus sophisticated coverage of European politics.
  • The New York Times Archive
    Search New York Times content from 1980 to the present. You can also search New York Times headlines back to 1851 with the NYT SiteSearch: http://query.nytimes.com/search/sitesearch/
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip