This is the "Background info" page of the "Social Justice Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Roosevelt University Logo

About the Library

Library Locations

Events

Alumni & Friends


Social Justice Studies  

Last Updated: Jun 6, 2014 URL: http://libguides.roosevelt.edu/socialjustice Print Guide RSS Updates

Background info Print Page
  Search: 
 

General Reference Sources

 

Use these sources to find either background information on your research topic, or reference information. These are also great resources to use if you're trying to select a research topic. These databases all provide credible information, however they are not scholarly journal articles. For scholarly articles try the sources listed in the Find Articles tab above.

 

Social justice reference

Reference sources for information on Social Justice topics.

These e-books can be accessed by all current RU students, faculty, and staff

Cover Art
Culture Wars - Roger Chapman
Call Number: E-Book: Credo Reference Work
Publication Date: 2009
This encyclopedia addresses the key defining issues of contemporary American society through the lens of political and social controversy. The set examines the history and relevance of the issues, events, controversies, personalities, groups, and concepts that have contributed to the political and social polarization of American society over recent decades.

Cover Art
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences - Ed. by William A. Darity
Call Number: E-Book: Gale Reference Work
Publication Date: 2008
Includes numerous entries on topics in social science research and practice. Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice - Gary L. Anderson
Call Number: E-Book: Sage Reference Work
Publication Date: 2007
This encyclopedia presents a comprehensive overview of the field with topics of varying dimensions, breadth, and length. It is designed for readers to understand the topics, concepts, and ideas that motivate and shape the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Human Rights - David P. Forsythe
Call Number: E-Book: Oxford Reference Work
Publication Date: 2009
This encyclopedia offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history in over 300 entries signed by leading scholars and human rights experts. The coverage includes major figures, organizations and institutions, human rights events and crises, and human rights norms.

Cover Art
International Encyclopedia of Civil Society - Helmut Anheier
Call Number: E-Book: Springer Reference Work
Publication Date: 2010
The Encyclopedia provides an overview of the contours of civil society, social capital, philanthropy and nonprofits across cultures and historical periods. For researchers in nonprofit and civil society studies, political science, economics, management and social enterprise, this is the most systematic appraisal of a rapidly growing field.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, and Conflict - Lester R. Kurtz
Call Number: E-Book: Credo Reference Work
Publication Date: 2008
This encyclopedia provides crucial and contemporary information about antagonism and reconciliation within both the public and private realms from violence and nonviolence toward the aged population to youth violence.

 

Access from off campus

To access library resources from off-campus you need your Library ID: 

23311+ your 9 digit personal ID number

If you have problems, see our Remote Access FAQ or contact the Library.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip