Books at RooseveltBooks from Other LibrariesDissertations @ RU
Admin Sign In 

Searching: Getting Started  Tags: searching searches start search_tips  

This guide offers places to start your research quickly and tips to help you get the most from your searches.
Last update: Aug 15th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.roosevelt.edu/startingresearch  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Quick Search             Print Page
  
 

Catalog Search

Find Books, Music, More


 


Use this search box to quickly find books, music, and other materials owned by the Roosevelt University Library

 

Search Tips

Here are some tips to help you search. If you need more help, use our contact info to the right.

Keep it simple! Good search terms are usually one word (i.e., autism) or one very simple phrase (i.e., global warming). Don't search sentences or long phrases all in one search box (i.e., effects of global warming, fast food industry in the US, etc.).

Start by identifying the main concepts in your topic. What 2-4 words or simple phrases are most important?

Many of the article databases start you on a screen with 3 search boxes. Use those simple words or phrases you came up with to fill the boxes. Try putting just one word/phrase in each box. If the database only shows you one box, go ahead and put all the words together.

Take a look at your results. Are the articles useful? Did the words/phrases you used seem to get you what you need, or do you need to try some new terms instead?

Play around with your search terms. Even if you found good articles, you might be able to find more with new words.

 
 

Article Search

Find Articles from Magazines & Scholarly Journals


Search for Articles

 


Use this search box to find articles from scholarly, academic journals as well as popular magazines and newspapers

Multi-Subject Search Tools

These tools are simple ways to get started with your searching. They are easy to use and will give you access to quality materials!

  • Academic One File  
      
    Provides a combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full text for scholarly and general interest journals embracing all academic disciplines. Offers citations to articles in 8,000 scholarly journal titles, nearly 4,000 of which afford full text.
  • Academic Search Premier  
      
    This article database covers a wide variety of subjects, so it is a great place to start most types of research. It indexes both scholarly and popular publications and includes a lot of full text articles.
  • Wilson OmniFile Select  
      
    This is another large, multi-subject article database with both scholarly and popular materials. It too has lots of full text articles available.
 
 

Contact Us

Need help with your searching? Just ask a librarian!

 

Send us an email.

Call us at 312-341-3644 (DT) or 847-619-7980 (SCH).

Stop by and ask us a question Downtown or in Schaumburg.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait