Finding Newspapers
Books at RooseveltBooks from Other LibrariesDissertations @ RU
This is the "Home" page of the "Research Tips and Tools" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Roosevelt University Logo

About the Library

Library Locations

Events

Alumni & Friends


Research Tips and Tools  

Use this guide to help you get started on your research
Last Updated: Nov 11, 2013 URL: http://libguides.roosevelt.edu/tipsandtools Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research Tools and Tips

This research guide is an excellent place to begin your research. On this page you'll find sources useful to students trying to think of a research topic, narrow their topic, or find background information. Click through the tabs above to be directed to resources for finding articles, books, newspapers, and more.

Credible Alternatives to Wikipedia

The following resources search credible encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs and more - the same ones you see sitting on the shelves in the library - and they are fully searchable and readable online. Think of them as your librarian-approved alternative to Wikipedia.

  • Credo Reference Home
    Credo Reference is an online collection of many reference books covering a wide variety of subjects, with entries covering such subjects as medicine, art, technology, law and more, all aggregated and integrated in a robust search engine. Credo Reference
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library Basic Search
    The Gale Virtual Reference Library is an online full-text collection of valuable reference books in multiple subject areas. This collection includes many multidisciplinary reference e-books, including some with primary source documents.
  • Sage eReference General Search
    Provides access to many encyclopedias in a variety of academic disciplines, including Criminology & Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Geography, History, Social Issues, and Sociology.
 

Contact Us

By Phone

Audtorium Building 

Reference: 312-341-3643
Circulation: 312-341-3639

Schaumburg

847-619-7980

Performing Arts Library

312-341-3651

Gage Library

312-341-3198


By E-Mail

Click Here to open our e-mail form; we will respond in 1 - 2 business days


By IM

Click the words Type Here to Chat in the box below to instant message an RU librarian.

Do you use AIM, Google Talk, MSN or Yahoo! to IM? Add the library as a buddy!

Screen names

  • AIM: rulibrarian
  • Google Talk: dlref@roosevelt.edu
  • MSN: dlref@roosevelt.edu
  • Yahoo!: rooseveltuniversitylibrary
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip