Research Guides: MGT 310: Finding Reliable Resources

Boolean Search (from the Pfaul Library)

Finding Key Words/Search Terms

Research Question: How does playing video games affect teenage girls?

	Concept 1	AND	Concept 2	AND	Concept 3
Extract the major concepts from your research question.	teenage		girls		“video games”
List alternatives for each concept: These can be synonyms, or they can be specific examples of the concept Use single words or short phrases. Find additional terms in abstracts and summaries of articles.	Search Terms		Search Terms		Search Terms
	adolescent		female		“online games”
	OR		OR		OR
	teens		“teenage girls”		Nintendo
	OR		OR		OR

	OR		OR		OR

Web vs Library Research Databases

Web vs Library Research Databases (by Arizona State University): This video discusses the differences between researching library databases vs. Google Scholar vs. Google

Library Databases for Business

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text coverage of top business, management and economics journals and periodicals. These valuable publications cover topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales and more.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities

Site Search

You can find official government or educational information by typing the following in the search:

site:.gov starbucks and eeo

site:.edu starbucks and eeo

MGT 310

Google Scholar Search

Finding Background Information

Use of Wikipedia

Boolean Search (from the Pfaul Library)

Finding Key Words/Search Terms

Web vs Library Research Databases

Library Databases for Business

Site Search