Suggested Psychology Databases
-
PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowThis database is published by the American Psychological Association and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations, and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in APA PsycINFO® are peer-reviewed.
Coverage: 1806 - current
- PsycINFO Quick Reference Guide
Use this guide to help you navigate your search on PsycINFO
- PsycINFO Classification Codes
Every entry receives a classification code to categorize the document based on the primary subject matter. These codes enables the user to narrow down their search.
- PsycINFO Topic Guides
Topic Guides are brief handouts designed to demonstrate how PsycINFO can be used to search for resources in a variety of topic areas. They contain three sample search scenarios, and a list of selected Index Terms.
-
PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowThis database offers full-text articles for journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals. Many titles go back to volume 1, issue 1.
Coverage: 1894 - current -
PsycCRITITQUES This link opens in a new windowPsycCRITIQUES, a database of the American Psychological Association, ended publication in Fall 2017. The critiques are made available here in partnership with the APA.
PsycCRITIQUES contains 43,056 full-text reviews of books in psychology and the social sciences, as well as professional videos and popular films from a psychological perspective. Reviews occasionally include comparative or retrospective book reviews.
The database also includes all reviews published in the print journal Contemporary Psychology: APA Review of Books between 1956 (Volume 1, Issue 1) and 2004.
Other Resources
-
APA PsycTherapy This link opens in a new windowAPA PsycTherapy provides clinicians, counselors, and trainees the opportunity to observe candid psychotherapy videos featuring known therapists. This proven counseling training method is an invaluable tool to remain abreast of the latest psychotherapy techniques.
-
Annual Review of Clinical Psychology This link opens in a new windowThe Annual Review of Clinical Psychology, in publication since 2005, provides comprehensive reviews of significant developments in the field of clinical psychology and psychiatry. The journal covers research, theory, and the application of psychological principles to address recognized disorders, including schizophrenia, mood, anxiety, childhood, substance use, cognitive, and personality disorders. Articles also address broader issues cross-cutting the field, such as diagnosis, treatment, social policy, and cross-cultural and legal issues.
-
Annual Review of Psychology This link opens in a new windowThe Annual Review of Psychology, in publication since 1950, covers the significant developments in the field of psychology, including: biological bases of behavior, sensation and perception, cognitive processes, animal learning and behavior, human development, psychopathology, clinical and counseling psychology, social psychology, personality, environmental psychology, community psychology, and more.
