Research Guides: Nursing: Find Drug Information

Drug Information Databases

Facts & Comparisons This link opens in a new window
Offers online access to the most up-to-date drug information enabling better therapeutic decisions.
Handbook on Injectable Drugs This link opens in a new window
The Handbook on Injectable Drugs is the “Gold Standard” for information about injectable drug compatibility
Lexicomp Online This link opens in a new window
Lexicomp Online is a collection of clinical databases and clinical decision support tools that provides users with a comprehensive medical library.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Evidence based information from Micromedex. This includes all the unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine you need to make informed clinical diagnosis and treatment decisions.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate® is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions. Note: Please create a Username and Password for a more reliable off campus experience.
Users who haven't registered an account with UpToDate need to click the OpenAthens login link at the bottom of the page to log in with your NetID and Password. Once you've logged in, click the orange register button to register with your email and password.

Topic-specific Drug Information Resources

Find information on genetic variation and drug response, dietary supplements, drugs and lactation, drugs and liver injury and more at the links below.

Dietary Supplement Labels Database (DSLD)
The DSLD is a joint project of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) and National Library of Medicine (NLM). The DSLD contains the full label contents from a sample of dietary supplement products marketed in the U.S.
Dietary Supplements Ingredients Database
The Dietary Supplement Ingredient Database (DSID) provides estimated levels of ingredients in dietary supplement products sold in the United States.
LactMed
The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate.
LiverTox
LIVERTOX® provides up-to-date, accurate, and easily accessed information on the diagnosis, cause, frequency, patterns, and management of liver injury attributable to prescription and nonprescription medications, herbals and dietary supplements.
PharmGKB
PharmGKB is a comprehensive resource that curates knowledge about the impact
of genetic variation on drug response for clinicians and researchers.

More Drug Databases

Access Pharmacy This link opens in a new window
An online curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education. A flexible resource, AccessPharmacy allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across leading pharmacy online references.
Interactive Handbook on Injectable Drugs This link opens in a new window
The multiple drug compatibility search feature is designed to facilitate searching for compatibility information on a number of two-drug or drug-solution combination at one time. Studies of drug compatibility are usually conducted on two drug entities together. For convenience, the multiple drug search feature permits the user to query the database for a number of these two-drug combinations as one search. However the user should not misinterpret the compatibility information to apply to more than the two specific agents in combination under the conditions of the study. The compatibility of three or more drugs in combination is generally unavailable.
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA) This link opens in a new window
Includes information from over 750 pharmaceutical, medical, and health-related journals published worldwide since 1970. International Pharmaceutical Abstracts covers the entire spectrum of drug therapy and pharmaceutical information including current health-related drug literature.
Pharmacy Library This link opens in a new window
PharmacyLibrary from American Pharmacists Association (APhA) is leading the next generation of online pharmacy resources. PharmacyLibrary features content from APhA's authoritative textbooks, an interactive NAPLEX review, case studies, article abstracts from the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association and a variety of news sources.
To access NAPLEX review questions, click the "NAPLEX Review" tab, and then "create one now" to set up a personal account. Be sure to use your RU email account.

Open Access Drug Information Resources

Open Access resources are freely available to everyone. Use the links below to navigate to open access resources of drug information.

DailyMed
DailyMed is the official provider of FDA label information (package inserts). This Web site provides a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling found in medication package inserts.
DrugBank
The DrugBank database is a unique bioinformatics and cheminformatics resource that combines detailed drug (i.e. chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target (i.e. sequence, structure, and pathway) information.
Drug Information Portal
The NLM Drug Information Portal gives users a gateway to selected drug information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies.The portal covers drugs from the time they are entered into clinical trials (Clinicaltrials.gov) through their entry in the U.S. market place (Drugs@FDA).Once a drug is found, a summary of the drug’s type and usage is given, as well as links leading to further information at one of the portal’s resources.
FDA Drug Databases: Drugs@FDA & Much More!
Use this link to access a list and description of the 14 different drug information databases available through the FDA.
MedlinePlus: Drugs & Supplements
This consumer information focused resource produced by the National Library of Medicine provides information about prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines, dietary supplements and herbal remedies.
PubChem
PubChem is a database of chemical molecules and their activities against biological assays.
RxList
Index for information on prescription drugs. Includes a pill identifier, dictionary and quizzes.
STITCH-Search Tool for Interactions of Chemicals
A searchable database that integrates information about interactions from metabolic pathways, crystal structures, binding experiments and drug–target relationships. Text mining and chemical structure similarity is used to predict relations between chemicals. Each proposed interaction can be traced back to the original data sources. The database contains interaction information for over 68 000 different chemicals, including 2200 drugs, and connects them to 1.5 million genes across 373 genomes.
Therapeutic Target Database
A database to provide information about the known and explored therapeutic protein and nucleic acid targets, the targeted disease, pathway information and the corresponding drugs directed at each of these targets. Also included in this database are links to relevant databases containing information about target function, sequence, 3D structure, ligand binding properties, enzyme nomenclature and drug structure, therapeutic class, clinical development status. All information provided is fully referenced.
New Drug Approvals
Drugs that have been recently approved by FDA.