Research Guides: Honors 399: Finding Scholarly Articles

Places to Look for Scholarly Research

Searching Academic Databases

The first place to look is Academic Search Complete
The second place to look is a subject based research guide
The third place to look is General Library Search Tool
- Use Advanced Search
- Filter by Scholarly & last 5 years
- Use other filters
  1. Journal Articles
  2. Subject Terms
Finally, The main library search box

Open Access Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Directory of Open Access Journals was launched in 2003 at Lund University, Sweden, with 300 open access journals and today contains ca. 9000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
JSTOR Open Access This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of open access eBooks and journals from JSTOR.
PQDT Open - Proquest Open Access Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge.
Sage Journals Open Access This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Open is a peer-reviewed, "Gold" open access journal from SAGE that publishes original research and review articles in an interactive, open access format. Articles may span the full spectrum of the social and behavioral sciences and the humanities.
SSOAR (Social Science Open Access Repository) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Welcome to the Social Science Open Access Repository (SSOAR). Here on our website you will find steadily growing holdings of freely available, full-text social science documents. The full-text server SSOAR, which is maintained at GESIS – Leibniz Institute for the Social Sciences, collects and archives literature of relevance to the social sciences and makes it available in open access on the Internet in accordance with the Berlin Declaration on Open Access to Knowledge in the Sciences and Humanities.

By archiving works in SSOAR, authors and publishers support free access to scientific information and optimized visibility of social science research results. SSOAR primarily pursues the so-called “Green Road to Open Access” (OA) and sees itself as a secondary publisher of quality-controlled literature.

OMICS Group
International through its Open Access Initiative is committed to make genuine and reliable contributions to the scientific community. OMICS Group hosts over 300 leading-edge peer reviewed Open Access Journals and organizes over 100 International Conferences annually all over the world.
SpringerOpen
SpringerOpen journal portfolio includes peer-reviewed, fully open access journals across all areas of science. It ranges from very specialized titles to SpringerPlus, an interdisciplinary open access journal that covers all disciplines.
Science Direct Open Access Journals
Almost 600 open access titles are available in this leading scientific database. The TCC Library also has a subscription to this database, which provides access to more scientific journal titles that are not openly accessible.

Online Search Tips

Search Shortcuts

	Explanation	Example
Phrase Search (Using Quotation Marks	Looks for complete phrase exactly as it is typed	"human cause for climate change"
Site:	Focuses on specific domain types .com (commercial), .org (organization), .gov (government), .edu (education)	site:.gov 2016 presidential voting statistics
Related:	Finds similar sites	related:put the url of another site
Link:	Finds sites that are linked to a site or have used the site as a reference	link:put the url of another site
Filetype:	Finds information in a specific file format (e.g., .doc, .ppt, .pdf, .xls, etc)	filetype: .xls 2016 presidential election results