Research Guides: HIST 280: Finding Primary Resources

More Archival Webistes

There are many websites where you can find primary sources for history research. Here are some reputable sources that provide access to a wide range of primary historical documents:

Library of Congress: The Library of Congress provides a vast collection of primary source materials, including photographs, manuscripts, maps, and more. Their "American Memory" collection is particularly valuable for U.S. history.

Website: Library of Congress

National Archives: The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in the United States is another excellent resource. They offer access to historical documents, photos, and records.

Website: National Archives

The National Archives (UK): The UK's National Archives also has a rich collection of historical records, including documents, maps, and photographs.

Website: The National Archives (UK)

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA): DPLA provides access to millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, and more from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States.

Website: Digital Public Library of America

Internet History Sourcebooks Project: This project, hosted by Fordham University, offers a vast collection of primary sources organized by historical period and region.

Website: Internet History Sourcebooks Project

Europeana: Europeana is a digital platform that provides access to millions of cultural heritage items, including photographs, documents, and artworks from European museums and archives.

Website: Europeana

Chronicling America: The Library of Congress offers a collection of historic newspapers from the United States, providing valuable insights into the past.

Website: Chronicling America

British Library's Online Gallery: The British Library offers a variety of digitized manuscripts, maps, prints, and photographs.

Website: British Library's Online Gallery

Archives.gov: DocsTeach: This resource from the National Archives allows you to explore and create activities using primary source documents.

Website: DocsTeach

The World Digital Library: Created by UNESCO, this website provides access to historical documents and artifacts from around the world.

Website: World Digital Library

When using these sources, make sure to properly cite and attribute them in your research, and be aware of any usage restrictions or copyright considerations that may apply to specific materials.

Archival Collections

Black Metropolis Research Consortium Collections
The BMRC gathers information about archival collections held by member organizations that document African American and African diasporic culture, history, and politics, with a specific focus on materials relating to Chicago. The searchable database includes records about collections that were processed or surveyed through the BMRC's Survey Initiative and Color Curtain Processing Project programs, as well as finding aids contributed from our members.
Chicago Collections
Look for information in the following categories: Events, Government, Daily Life, Creativity, Environments, Work
The Newberry Library
The Newberry collection is a portal to more than six centuries of human history, from the Middle Ages to the present.
Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Pritzker Military Archival Collections
This archival collection has materials related to service members in nearly every U.S. war.

Archival Films & Newsreels Collection This link opens in a new window
Throughout modern history, cameras have recorded public events, wars, cultural phenomena, and government programs. This collection is a treasure trove of archival and historical films from multiple sources.
Archive of Popular American Music This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
UCLA Music Library's Archive of Popular American Music is a research collection covering the history of popular music in the United States from 1790 to the present.