Click here to search over 3,200 of our history and archeology journals.
What is an ISSN?
If you are searching for journals or articles, you may come across search bars asking for ISSNs. An International Standard Serial Number (ISSN) is an 8-digit code used to identify newspapers, journals, magazines and periodicals of all kinds and on all media–print and electronic. Think of it as a unique bar code for each publication. ISSNs are useful if you have a specific journal in mind and are looking to see if Roosevelt has it.
An online collection of many reference books covering a wide variety of subjects, with entries covering such subjects as medicine, art, technology, law and more.
Credo Reference is an online collection of many reference books covering a wide variety of subjects, with entries covering such subjects as medicine, art, technology, law and more, all aggregated and integrated in a robust search engine.
OpenBibArt reviews the literature on arts from Late Antiquity to the present day, providing access to close to 1.2 million of bibliographic records of periodicals, books, exhibition and auction catalogues, published between 1910 and 2007.
The Union List of Artist Names ® (ULAN), the Art & Architecture Thesaurus ® (AAT), the Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names ® (TGN). the Cultural Objects Name Authority ® (CONA), and the Getty Iconography Authority ™ (IA) are structured resources that can be used to improve access to information about art, architecture, and other material culture. The Vocabularies are not simply 'value vocabularies,' but knowledge bases. Through rich metadata and links, the Getty Vocabularies provide powerful conduits for knowledge creation, complex research, and discovery for digital art history and related disciplines.
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies. It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM.
Streaming video content covering many subject disciplines, such as American History, Environmental Studies, Black Studies, Current Affairs, Counseling & Therapy, Opera, New World Cinema (Independent Features & Shorts), and Theatre. Click the 'Collections" tab to discover videos for which the library provides access.
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
This is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities
The National Archive of Data on Arts and Culture (NADAC) is a repository that facilitates research on arts and culture by acquiring data, particularly those funded by federal agencies and other organizations, and sharing those data with researchers, policymakers, people in the arts and culture field, and the general public.
**Images Visible On Campus Only** Saskia Digital Image Archive is a collection consisting of over 30,000 high resolution and digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture. The images come from many of the most important collections in the world; including the Louvre, the Uffizi, the Prado, and the Kunsthistorisches Museum, as well as from significant archaeological sites in Greece, Italy, Turkey, and Egypt.
Created by the Library of Congress, American Memory is a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States, with over 7 million digital items from 100 historical collections.
The Archives of American Art is the world’s preeminent and most widely used research center dedicated to collecting, preserving, and providing access to primary sources that document the history of the visual arts in America.
Launched in May 2014, the Art Discovery Group Catalogue (ADGC) offers an art-focused research experience within the OCLC WorldCat environment. Researchers may search within this specialized subset of Worldcat data to hone in on a vast trove of art-historical literature held in an ever-increasing number of the world’s finest art libraries. These art library records are searchable alongside additional content from a multitude of sources in the large metadata pool derived from thousands of commercial and freely-accessible collections, portals and repositories provided by OCLC as the WorldCat Central Index.
Explore Artstor’s collections of high-quality images, curated from leading museums and archives around the world. Artstor’s diverse collections are rights-cleared for education and research, and include Open Access content as well as rare materials not available elsewhere.
Collection online allows access to almost four and a half million objects in more than two million records. High definition images can be enlarged and examined in detail. Enjoy exploring the collection – from some of the earliest objects created by humankind to works by contemporary artists. Or choose from the curated collections below, which reveal the fascinating stories that transcend time.
Google Arts & Culture is a non-commercial initiative. We work with cultural institutions and artists around the world. Together, our mission is to preserve and bring the world’s art and culture online so it’s accessible to anyone, anywhere.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art’s Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History presents a thematic, chronological, and geographical exploration of global art history through The Met collection. Authored by The Met’s experts, the digital publication is a reference, research, and teaching tool conceived for students and scholars of art history. The Timeline currently comprises more than 1,000 essays and 300 chronologies. It is regularly updated and enriched to provide new scholarship and insights on The Met collection.
The Collections database consists of entries for more than 500,000 works in the Musée du Louvre and Musée National Eugène-Delacroix. Updated on a daily basis, it is the result of the continuous research and documentation efforts carried out by teams of experts from both museums
This is the Smithsonian Open Access, where you can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking. With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to more than 5.1 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections—with many more to come. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 21 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
VADS provides a national collection of over 140,000 images from over 300 art and design collections across the UK, which are freely available for non-commercial use in education. The images cover the broad range of the visual arts including applied arts, architecture, design, fashion, fine art, and media. VADS is a service of the Library at the University for the Creative Arts (UCA).
The Women Artists Archives National Directory (WAAND), an innovative web directory to U.S. archival collections of primary source materials by and about women visual artists active in the U.S. since 1945.
