Artificial Intelligence (AI)

Roosevelt University Library Databases

We have access to these tools through our subscription databases but it is limited to specific user interfaces. Please note that these interactive tools are in beta version.

• JSTOR: Learn more about JSTOR's AI beta on their website.
• Proquest Research Assistant: ProQuest's associated frequently asked question webpage.
• EBSCO Databases: Learn more about the impact on EBSCO's Generative AI Insights Features webpage.

 

ChatGPT

Website: https://chatgpt.com

Uses: generates text, code, and images.

Company: OpenAI

Privacy:  OpenAI Privacy Policy (for non-European users) and OpenAI Privacy Policy (for EU)

Claude

Website: https://claude.ai/

Uses: generates text, code, and images.

Company: Anthropoic

Privacy:  Anthropic Privacy Policy

Gemini

Website: https://gemini.google.com/

Uses: Generates text, code, and images. Includes links to some web sources.

Company: Google

Privacy:  Gemini Apps Privacy Hub

Llama

Website:  https://llama.meta.com/ or https://meta.ai

Uses: generates text, code, and images. 

Company: Meta 

Privacy:  Meta Privacy Policy

 

 

Elicit

Website: https://elicit.com/

Uses: literature searching, data extraction from PDFs, summarizes individual papers using LLMs, synthesize results from multiple papers to create an overall summary

Company: Elicit

User Privacy:  Elicit Privacy Policy

Consensus

Website: https://consensus.app/

Uses: literature searching, provides a "consensus meter" of how the results align with your question (yes, maybe, no), summarizes individual papers using LLMs, synthesizes results from multiple papers to create an overall summary

Company: Union Square Ventures

User Privacy:  Consensus Privacy Policy

Research Rabbit

Website: https://www.researchrabbit.ai/

Uses: Literature mapping - i.e., tracking citations to create a "map" of citations affiliated with a paper. Also provides citations for similar work. 

Company: Research Rabbit

User Privacy:  Research Rabbit Privacy Notice

Inciteful

Website: https://inciteful.xyz/

Uses: Literature mapping - i.e., tracking citations to create a "map" of citations affiliated with a paper. Also provides citations for similar work. Ranks affiliated papers by "importance" using PageRank scores.

Company: Inciteful

User Privacy:  Inciteful Privacy Policy

Notebook LM

Website: https://notebooklm.google.com/

Uses: data extraction from PDFs, summarizes individual papers using Gemini, synthesize results from multiple papers to create an overall summary in different formats including audio.

Company: Google 

User Privacy: NotebookLM Privacy Policy

Perplexity

Website:  https://www.perplexity.ai/

Uses: generates text, code, and images. 

Company: Perplextity AI

Privacy: Perplexity Privacy Policy

 

 

AI Tools for Audio, Image and Video Generation

• Stable Diffusion: Generates images, video and audio. Free and paid versions. Available to download and run locally, or use online through Stable Assistant. 
• Midjourney: Generates images and video in Discord and on the Web. Requires a paid subscription.
• Dall-e: text to image generator from OpenAI. Incorporated into Microsoft CoPilot.
• Sora: text to video generator from OpenAI that was released for broader use in December 2024. Available through the ChatGPT Plus subscription which provides basic functionality and with expanded capabilities available for ChatGPT Pro users.

---

AI Coding Tools

• GitHub Copilot: generate and optimize code in many programming languages. Free and paid subscriptions available.
• Code Llama: generate and optimize code in many programming languages. Available for free.