Research Guides: English Language and Literature: Online Resources

Websites for Post-Colonial/Non-Western Literature Research

Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures
Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures is a fascinating and informative guide to the myriad discrete ethnic and cultural groupings that have inhabited our planet over the past 6000 years
Penguin Encyclopedia of Places
Articles range from detailed accounts of individual countries, to snapshot views of small communities, to descriptions of rivers and mountains, and they contain a wealth of background information.
Chambers Dictionary of World History
The Chambers Dictionary of World History contains many entries, providing clear and authoritative coverage of the most significant people, ideas and events of world history.
Encyclopedia of African History
With entries ranging from the earliest evolution of human beings in Africa to the beginning of the twenty-first century, this comprehensive Encyclopedia is the first reference of this scale and scope. Also includes 99 maps.
Dictionary of Foreign Phrases and Abbreviations, H.W. Wilson
The third edition of this standard reference book lists in one alphabetical sequence foreign phrases, proverbs, maxims and abbreviations frequently used in written and spoken English. An index of phrases by language follows the main alphabetical list.

Websites for Literature and Humanities Students

Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts
A collection of digital documents of English & American literature, and Western philosophy.
Biography.com AE Televesion Network
Biographical sketches of historical and current prominent figures.
Chawton House Library
Devoted to the study of women writers in Britain pre-1850.
Encyclopedia Mythica
Please enter the award-winning internet encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and religion. Here you will find everything from A-gskw to Zveda Vechanyaya, with plenty in between.

The mythology section is divided to six geographical regions: Africa, Americas, Asia, Europe, Middle East, and Oceania. The Folklore section contains general folklore, Arthurian legends, and fascinating folktales from many lands
Folger Shakespeare Library
Library dedicated to Shakespeare scholarship with access to some online materials.
Internet Public Library
The IPL Literary Criticism Collection contains critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by nationality and literary period.

Select list of Core Journals at Roosevelt

This is not a complete list of every journal of relevance to creative writers and MFA students. To find out if we have a particular journal, go to the library's home page and click on "Find Journals and Newspapers by Title." Type in the journal name to find if we have it, for which years, and which database it's or if it's available in another format such as print or microfilm. For more assistance, get in touch with Martinique Hallerduff or the library's reference desk.

Poetry (Chicago)
Poetry, commentary news notes and lists of recently published books published by the Modern Poetry Association.
Antioch Review
Prints essays, fiction, poetry, and book reviews, with occasional special issues on topics of contemporary interest and importance.
Beloit Poetry Journal
Includes work from new writers, publishes reviews, & includes occasional chapbooks.
Bomb
Interviews between artists, first proofs, artists on artist, and editor's choice.
Chicago Review
An international journal of writing and cultural exchange that publishes poetry, fiction, translations, essays, interviews, reviews, art, and drama.
Confrontation
Publishes stories, poems, plays, and memoirs; a special section contains book reviews and cultural commentary.
Epoch
from Fall 2009 to present in Chicago Print Holdings.
Epoch publishes fiction, poetry, essays, graphic art, and on occasion, cartoons and screenplays.
Gettysburg Review
Gettysburg Review publishes contemporary poetry, fiction, essays, essay-reviews, and art

Publication Resources

Duotrope is an award-winning, free writers' resource listing over 5000 current Fiction and Poetry publications. Use this page to search for markets that may make a fine home for the piece you just polished.