Biology: Find Websites

A gateway to authoritative science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.

The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science."

The Federation of American Scientists (FAS) provides science-based analysis of and solutions to protect against catastrophic threats to national and international security.

This is the original Technical Report No. 3 published by the Great Lakes Fishery Commission in 1962 with regular updates and supplements of data.

FishBase is a relational database developed at the WorldFish Center in collaboration with the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations and is supported by a consortium of seven research institutions.

Connect to the Atlas of Biodiversity PDF. View the Biodiversity Recovery Plan for Chicago, and the report card on the health of the Region's Ecosystem.

Biology Science Directory: a listing of biology related organizations and specialized websites.

Access to NCBI's Resources. The Genome Project is a searchable database of sequencing, assembly, annotation and mapping projects of cellular organisms.

Compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes with full text referenced overviews. Updated daily with links to other genetic resources.

Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution is the world's leading, independent non-profit organization dedicated to ocean research, exploration, and education.

Search the NAL (Agricola) Catalog. Link to the latest news and information centers. Browse a wide variety of subject areas related to producing and marketing agriculture, including recipes and things for kids and teens.

A database containing 7,000 edible, medicinal and useful plants for a healthier world. Contains habitat and gardening information on rare and unusual perenntial plants chosen to help create an ecologically sustainable environment.

The Plants Database comes from the Natural Resources Conservation Service of the USDA. Links to a database searchable by state and region for endangered and noxious plants, wetland recovery and ecological sites. Large image index.

Compiled by biologists from around the world to raise awareness of how things are connected. Includes images.

Written summaries of biological characteristics and contaminant exposure and effects data for 49 coastal and estuarine terrestrial vertebrates are available. Characterizations were compiled from over 1800 references obtained from literature searches of several scientific databases. Also has Tools for Teachers.

The Teaching Commons brings together high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities. Curated by librarians and their institutions, the Teaching Commons includes open access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, and more.