Skip to main content
Roosevelt University in Chicago, Schaumburg and Online - Logo

African American Studies

Welcome to the African-American Studies Research Guide! It's our hope that you will find many useful resources here. In this guide you will find journal and article databases, books, e-books, reference materials, web resources and more.

Select Web Resources for African-American Studies

This page contains African-American resources on the Web.  If you have more suggestions on other websites that should be here, please contact me!

African-American History Sources

Black History

An interactive website from biography.com.  Research African-American figures from the past to now.  Videos, timelines, biographies and facts galore!

Du Sable Museum of African-American History

The DuSable Museum of African American History, the first and oldest institution of its kind in the country, has been dedicated to the collection, preservation, interpretation and dissemination of the history and culture of Africans and Americans of African descent.

Blackpast.org

BlackPast.org, an online reference center makes available a wealth of materials on African American history in one central location on the Internet.

Black Studies In Video

Black Studies in Video is a signature Alexander Street Press collection featuring award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States.

In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides unique access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations

Subject Guide

Contact Us