Sociology

Regional Illinois data on population trends, social, economic, physical, and governmental factors affecting the development of the area.

Regional data compiled by the Northern Illinois Business and Industry Data Center. Updates are made on a daily or weekly basis. Includes crime statistics, demographic data, education, housing and business characteristics and more.

Portal to anything Illinois. Includes IL Compiled Statutes, IL Handbook of Government, Population Projections and more.

Interactive tables, maps, charts and graphs of state & metropolitan areas.

Data and information about the housing environment in Chicago and other communities throughout the region.

This reference collects in one place the major demographic, economic, and political statistics for each county. It is intended for legislators and others who want to become more familiar with the state of Illinois and its counties.

Thousands of historical resources-including articles, photos, maps, broadsides and newspapers-related to Chicago's history.

Critically reviews the most significant primary research literature to guide you to the principal contributions and up to date research in the the field of Sociology.

Peer-reviewed, published quarterly, and edited by a team in the sociology department at the University of Minnesota, offers a smartly written, thought-provoking take on modern life in our communities.

Offers multidisciplinary perspectives and explores issues of relevance to both scholars and practitioners, including theoretical, conceptual, or methodological approaches to metropolitan and community problems, empirical research that advances the understanding of society, strategies for social change, and innovative urban policies and programs.

Provides an international and multidisciplinary forum for the publication of articles and discussion of issues germane to race and its enduring relationship to psychological, socioeconomic, political, and cultural problems. The journal publishes original empirical studies, reviews of past research, theoretical studies, and invited essays that advance the understanding of the complexities of race and its relationship to social problems.

Leading scholarly journal on urban issues and themes. For almost five decades, scholars, researchers, policymakers, planners, and administrators have turned to UAR for the latest international research and empirical analysis.

Browse resources by subject or by region.

Excerpted from The Men's Bibliography: comprehensive bibliography of writing on men, masculinities, gender, and sexualities, compiled by Michael Flood.

Resources for Research - compiled for researching the sociology of sport.

Sociology's membership association.

Extensive list of resources compiled by the American Anthropological Association.

Links to Educational & Research Resources, Institutions & Organizations

Funded by the Mellon Foundation and maintained by Cornell University and the University of Michigan. Features a digital library of primary sources in late19th century American social history.

A broad, though slightly dated, site with links, data, images, essays, and more.

Federal statistics and reports on children and families.Maintained by The Federal Interagency Forum on Child andFamily Statistics

Current criminal justice statistics,reports, trends and more.

Gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S.Federal agencies. Includes state statistical profiles.

Site provides sampling of archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion.

Daily News, Polls, Public Opinion on Government, Politics, Economics, Management.

ICPSR maintains world's largest digital archive of social science data for research and instruction.

Extensive worldwide demographic data.

Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Extensive collection of links to demographic data. Covers topics of Sociology, Housing, Social & Economic data and more. Hosted by University of Michigan.

2,100+ annual reports, journals, working papers, books, economic and sector work studies and multilingual content dating from 2009 to 2012+. Offers both basic and advanced search.

National and international statistics and research compiled by The World Bank organization. Includes policy research reports, working papers and more.

A nonpartisan economic and social policy research organization. Includes reports and statistics.

Census data on population, housing, poverty, business & industry and more.

A data bank containing statistical tables of demographic, and socio-economic data for 220+ countries and areas of the world.

Primary source for internationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories.

Links to the UN's Statistics Division and publications of global information compiled on economic, demographic & social, environmental & energy and more.