Skip to main content
Roosevelt University in Chicago, Schaumburg and Online - Logo

Art & Art History

This research guide is designed to help you in the research of Art & Art History.

Selected websites for Art & Art History

Mother of all Art and Art History Links Page-

Provides links to Art History Depts, Research Resources, Resources for Visual Collections, Image Collections and Online Art, Online Exhibits, Art Museums, and more.

Artcyclopedia-

Provides links to museums, image archives, artist sites, and other sites on the web for select artists, articles on select art topics, and more.

National Gallery of Art in Washington, DC-

Search by subject, artist, or medium, watch videos, listen to podcasts, and more.

Smithsonian Institution – thousands of online images and educational resources-

Search over 2 million records with 265,900 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from all across the Smithsonian

Other Helpful Websites

The Art Institute Of Chicago

The official website of the Art Institute of Chicago.  Check here for the current exhibition and information about their extensive collection.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art

This is the official website of the Metropolitan Museum of Art in NYC.  Here you will find information on their collection, upcoming lectures and events, concerts and special programs.

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History

The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History is funded by the Heilbrunn Foundation, New Tamarind Foundation, and Zodiac Fund. The Timeline is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Museum's collection. It is an invaluable reference and research tool for students, educators, scholars, and anyone interested in the study of art history and related subjects.