We hear it all the time: "I can't use Wikipedia!" The following resources search credible encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs and more - the same ones you see sitting on the shelves in the library - and they are fully searchable and readable online. Think of them as your librarian-approved alterative to Wikipedia.
Credo Reference is an online collection of many reference books covering a wide variety of subjects, with entries covering such subjects as medicine, art, technology, law and more, all aggregated and integrated in a robust search engine. Credo Reference
In addition to the complete online encyclopedia, features online versions of Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia, Britannica World Atlas, and Britannica Year in Review.
The Gale Virtual Reference Library is an online full-text collection of valuable reference books in multiple subject areas. This collection includes many multidisciplinary reference e-books, including some with primary source documents.
The premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Having trouble picking a topic to research? These resources cover controversial, timely issues in a number of topics. They give background information, pro/con arguments, and tips for continuing research.
Credo Reference is an online collection of many reference books covering a wide variety of subjects, with entries covering such subjects as medicine, art, technology, law and more, all aggregated and integrated in a robust search engine.
This database explores broad current events and controversial topics from a global perspective. Information is arranged in topical “portals.” These portals provide a wide range of materials, including a brief overview of the topic, reference sources for background information, global news articles, images and videos, podcasts, primary source documents, scholarly journal articles, and more.
A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
The Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development.
Need help with your searching? Just ask a librarian!