Skip to Main Content
Roosevelt University in Chicago, Schaumburg and Online - Logo

Research Tips and Tools

Use this guide to help you get started on your research

Article Search

Conduct a quick search in Academic Search Premier


Search for Articles

 


Use this search box to find articles from scholarly, academic journals as well as popular magazines and newspapers. This search box will connect directly to Academic Search Premier, a great multi-subject database.

Database Search Tips

Here are some tips to help you search. If you need more help, click the "contact us" tab above.

Keep it simple! Good search terms are usually one word (i.e., autism) or one very simple phrase (i.e., global warming). Don't search sentences or long phrases all in one search box (i.e., effects of global warming, fast food industry in the US, etc.).

Start by identifying the main concepts in your topic. What 2-4 words or simple phrases are most important?

Many of the article databases start you on a screen with 3 search boxes. Use those simple words or phrases you came up with to fill the boxes. Try putting just one word/phrase in each box. If the database only shows you one box, go ahead and put all the words together.

Take a look at your results. Are the articles useful? Did the words/phrases you used seem to get you what you need, or do you need to try some new terms instead?

Play around with your search terms. Even if you found good articles, you might be able to find more with new words.

What is a Library Database?

No Flash plugin installed.

Multidisciplinary Databases

These databases each search thousands of scholarly journals (and some popular sources such as newspapers and news magazines) in a variety of disciplines. They are an excellent place to being your research. For database tips, click on the FAQ tab above, or contact a librarian.

Contact Us

By Phone

Audtorium Building 

Reference: 312-341-3643
Circulation: 312-341-3639

Schaumburg

847-619-7980

Performing Arts Library

312-341-3651

Gage Library

312-341-3198


By E-Mail

Click Here to open our e-mail form; we will respond in 1 - 2 business days


By IM

Click the words Type Here to Chat in the box below to instant message an RU librarian.

Do you use AIM, Google Talk, MSN or Yahoo! to IM? Add the library as a buddy!

Screen names

  • AIM: rulibrarian
  • Google Talk: dlref@roosevelt.edu
  • MSN: dlref@roosevelt.edu
  • Yahoo!: rooseveltuniversitylibrary