Skip to Main Content
Roosevelt University in Chicago, Schaumburg and Online - Logo

Research Tips and Tools

Use this guide to help you get started on your research

Searching for Articles

Database and Newspaper searching

Databases are tools you can use to search for magazine, journal, and newspaper citations or full-text articles. The RU Library subscribes to MANY databases, and as an RU student most of them are available to you via the Library’s website.

You can use RU databases from off campus. When you try to open a database off campus, you will be asked to authenticate using the barcode from your ID. The barcode number is always 23311 + your 9 digit personal ID number. For more information, see our FAQ

If you know what database you want, click on the drop down menu under the words Online Resources A - Z on the Library homepage to see an alphabetical list of all our databases. The database list includes descriptions of each tool, telling you what topics are covered and what kind of resources they offer so you can select the best one. You can also view the databases that we subscribe to and read descriptions of those databases here: http://libguides.roosevelt.edu/databases

If you don’t know what database you want, click on the Research Guides by Subject drop-down menu on the Library homepage. This will give you a list of all our subject guides. Each guide has a page listing databases that are useful for that topic.

How do you choose a subject area? Think first about the topic of your class (i.e., Psychology if you are in a Psychology class). However, many research topics are interdisciplinary. For instance, if your topic relates to the effect of television violence on children’s school performance, you may want to use databases in Psychology, Education, or Sociology. You may also find specialty categories such as Newspapers or Statistics helpful. Be creative and explore your options by reading the database descriptions the Library provides.

Newspaper Search Tools

Contact Us

Need help with your searching? Just ask a librarian!

Send us an email.

Call us at 312-341-3644 (DT) or 847-619-7980 (SCH).

Stop by and ask us a question Downtown or in Schaumburg.