Skip to main content
Roosevelt University in Chicago, Schaumburg and Online - Logo

Chicago Fire of 1874 Wikipedia Edit-a-Thon

Tips and resources for the Chicago Fire of 1874 Wikipedia Edit-a-Thon at Roosevelt University and Northeastern Illinois University on Oct. 23, 2014

Wikipedia is NOT

From the Wikipedia page Wikipedia is Not:

Wikipedia is not a paper encyclopedia

Wikipedia is not a dictionary

Wikipedia is not a publisher of original thought

Wikipedia is not a soapbox or means of promotion

Wikipedia is not a manual, guidebook, textbook, or scientific journal

Wikipedia is not an indiscriminate collection of information

Wikipedia is not censored

Wikipedia is not considered peer-reviewed

 

 

 

Wikipedia: The good and the bad

Wikipedia Art

Five Pillars of Wikipedia

The fundamental principles by which Wikipedia operates can be summarized in five "pillars":

First pillar
Wikipedia is an encyclopedia: It combines many features of general and specialized encyclopedias, almanacs, and gazetteers. Wikipedia is not a soapbox, an advertising platform, a vanity press, an experiment in anarchy or democracy, an indiscriminate collection of information, or a web directory. It is not a dictionary, a newspaper, or a collection of source documents, although some of its fellow Wikimedia projects are.
Second pillar
Wikipedia is written from a neutral point of view: We strive for articles that document and explain the major points of view, giving due weight with respect to their prominence in an impartial tone. We avoid advocacy and we characterize information and issues rather than debate them. In some areas there may be just one well-recognized point of view; in others, we describe multiple points of view, presenting each accurately and in context rather than as "the truth" or "the best view". All articles must strive for verifiable accuracy, citing reliable, authoritative sources, especially when the topic is controversial or a living person. Editors' personal experiences, interpretations, or opinions do not belong.

Third pillar
Wikipedia is free content that anyone can edit, use, modify, and distribute: Since all editors freely license their work to the public, no editor owns an article and any contributions can and will be mercilessly edited and redistributed. Respect copyright laws, and never plagiarize from sources. Borrowing non-free media is sometimes allowed as fair use, but strive to find free alternatives first.

Fourth pillar
Editors should treat each other with respect and civility: Respect your fellow Wikipedians, even when you disagree. Apply Wikipedia etiquette, and avoid personal attacks. Seek consensus, avoid edit wars, and never disrupt Wikipedia to illustrate a point. Act in good faith, and assume good faith on the part of others. Be open and welcoming to newcomers. If a conflict arises, discuss it calmly on the nearest talk pages, follow dispute resolution, and remember that there are 4,339,340 articles on the English Wikipedia to work on and discuss.

Fifth pillar
Wikipedia does not have firm rules: Wikipedia has policies and guidelines, but they are not carved in stone; their content and interpretation can evolve over time. Their principles and spirit matter more than their literal wording, and sometimes improving Wikipedia requires making an exception. Be bold, but not reckless, in updating articles and do not agonize about making mistakes. Every past version of a page is saved, so any mistakes can be easily corrected.