Research Guides: LIBS 201: Chicago/Turabian Style

About Chicago or Turabian Style

The Chicago Manual of Style and Turabian Style (found in A manual for writers of research papers, theses, and dissertations : Chicago style for students and researchers by Kate Turabian) of citation use essentially the same format and documentation system, but the Turabian style differs somewhat in order to be more suitable for student work. Copies of the most recent editions of both guides are available at the dowtown and Schaumburg campus libraries, some are for use in the library only. See the Quick Guide for The Chicago Manual of Style (Note: select the Style & Usage chapter)

Official Chicago Style Quick Guide
Offical Turabian Style Quick Guide
Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL) Resources for Chicago Style
Please note that while these resources reflect the most recent updates in the 16th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style concerning documentation practices, you can review a full list of updates concerning usage, technology, professional practice, etc. at The Chicago Manual of Style Online.
RefWorks
Tool for creating and storing citations in many styles. You will need to create an account to use this cite. See the RefWorks page for information on how to set up account and use this tool.

Template for Creating Endnotes and Bibliography
This template (by EasyBib) shows you how to format and create endnotes and bibliography entries for: Books, Chapters, Magazines, Newspapers, Websites, Journals, and Online Databases
Sample Paper in Chicago Style
This sample paper (created by Austin Peay State University) provides examples for creating a title page, running head, end notes, and bibliography.

How Footnotes are used and formatted:

Note is created each time a source is referenced
A superscript number is added to the end of the sentence that is referenced
The Footnote should begin with that number and continue numerically with each additional Footnote (i.e., do not restart numbering on a new page)
When a source is cited for subsequent instances, the only information needed is the author’s last name, title of publication (it may be shortened), and the date of the publication.
Page numbers will be included when using direct quotations (paraphrasing is preferred but sometimes quotations are needed)

Citation Machine
Citation machine helps students and professional researchers to properly credit the information that they use. Its primary goal is to make it so easy for student researchers to cite their information sources.
more...less...
Create MLA, APA, and Chicago Style citations with fill-in-form for multiple types of resources.
EasyBib
EasyBib is an automatic bibliography composer. When you have sources you need to cite properly for your research paper, EasyBib will help you format your sources quickly and accurately.
more...less...
Basic services are free, professional services charge a fee
Knight Cite
KnightCite is an online citation generator service provided by the Hekman Library of Calvin College. This service simplifies the often tedious task of compiling an accurate bibliography in the appropriate style by formatting the given data on a source into a reliable citation.
more...less...
Create MLA, APA, and Chicago Style citations with fill-in-form for multiple types of resources.
APA Style Generator
This website allows you to create bibliographic citations for your reference list. It also has a plagiarism checker that will give you a percentage of plagiarism in your paper. Finally, there is access to editing services, for a fee.