Research Guides: HOSM 399: Finding Scholarly Research

Discussion of Scholarly Resources

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article: A guide from North Carolina State University Libraries which dissects a scholarly article.

How to Read a Scientific Paper: Video presentation that illustrates how to read through a scientific paper

Introduction

Below you will find some information about how to identify and read scholarly articles. To find the databases to search for your assignments, go to Hospitality Management: Find Articles page.

Scholarly Search

Searching Academic Databases

The first place to look is Hospitality & Tourism Complete/Academic Search Complete/Business Source Elite ( see links below):
- Filter by Scholarly
- Choose last 5 years
The second place to look is ProQuest Central (see link below):
- Filter by Scholarly
- Last 5 years
The third place to look is General Library Search Tool
- Use Advanced Search
- Filter by Scholarly & last 5 years
- Use other filters
  1. Journal Articles
  2. Subject Terms
The last place to look is Google Scholar

Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
Hospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 828,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965.
There is full text for more than 490 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text coverage of top business, management and economics journals and periodicals. These valuable publications cover topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales and more.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This link to Google Scholar connects you to the full-text of articles provided through RU Library journal subscriptions.
Look for... "Full-Text @ My Library"
Google Scholar provides a broad search that includes selected research papers, professional society and interest group publications, conference reports, book summaries, and media reports. Results include abstracts and citations, drafts, works in progress, reprints, and peer-reviewed journal articles. Not everything in Google Scholar is free.

Open Access Journals

Find Articles: Search 10-million-plus articles from "leading academic, industry and general-interest publications."

HighWire Press: Hosted by Stanford University Libraries, HighWire Press provides more than 1.3 million full-text, peer-reviewed articles from 900-plus journals.