Research Guides: SPCH 250: Using Refworks

Introduction

What can RefWorks do for you?

Collect, manage, and organize your research papers and documents
Annotate, organize, and cite your research
Collaborate by sharing collections
Drag and drop (for saving) documents and bibliographic data
Create shortcut link on browser to capture research from websites
Format papers with in-text citations or footnotes.
Change existing in-text citations and reference list to a different style with one click

Scroll down this page to find information about:

Logging into RefWorks/Creating an Account (How to find/establish Roosevelt RefWorks accounts)
Importing References from Mendeley, Zotero, and Others into Your RefWorks account (Moving references from other tools into your RefWorks account)
Upload document(s), from your computer, into Your RefWorks Account
Installing Write-N-Cite For Microsoft Word
Using RefWorks with Google Docs
RefWorks Shortcut in Google Scholar
Saving to RefWorks Manually
Entering Full-Text From Summon (Summon is where our databases reside)
Creating RefWorks Shortcut for Browser (To save information from web pages)
Using Write-N-Cite to Write and Format Papers (Create in paper citations and auto-populate reference list while writing your paper.)

Information from this page was found on the ProQuest libguide for RefWorks: http://proquest.libguides.com/newrefworks/welcome

Uploading Document(s) From Your Computer

The following information is from the Uploading One or More Documents from your Computer box on the New RefWorks: Drag & Drop and Manual references libguide by ProQuest.

1. Click on the Add a reference icon and select Upload document.

2. Drag and drop your file(s) into RefWorks. If you drag multiple files, a separate document will be created for the file. For this method, you will need to file each document in a specific folder (Collection) once all have been uploaded.

3. To put in a specific collection, make sure that the collection is open before dragging the file(s).

and you can file them in collections once they are uploaded.

4. RefWorks supports multiple file types including RIS, BibTex, PubMed, etc.

5. RefWorks will try to recognize and populate your reference information using their document authority. You will be presented with options and you choose how you want to fill in the reference fields. If no reference information is presented, you will need to manually populate the information.

6. Be sure to Save the reference information.

Entering Full-Text From Summon

The following information is from the Reference Suggestions and Full-Text From Summon box on the New RefWorks: Drag & Drop and Manual references libguide from ProQuest.

Find an article on the library database. If there is no automatic tool for saving to RefWorks, you can do the following:

Click on the Add a reference icon and select Create new reference
Begin typing the title or an author-name
Look for the Find and complete icon to turn blue or click on it to have RefWorks look for suggestions

4. Scroll to the bottom of the reference to see the suggestions and click on the title of the reference you wish to add

Using Write-N-Cite to Write and Format Papers

The following information is from the Using Write-N-Cite to Write and Format Your Paper box on the New RefWorks: Using Write-N-Cite for Microsoft Word to Write and Format Your Paper libguide from ProQuest.

You can get started with Write-N-Cite easily and view the formatting of your in-text citations, footnotes, and bibliography – all while you are writing your paper.

To get started

Click "RefWorks” in your MS Word ribbon to launch Write-N-Cite
Select an output style
Insert in-text citations or footnotes and your bibliography
Save your paper

Step 1. Launch Write-N-Cite

Note: The first time you launch Write-N-Cite, you must be connected to the internet in order to log in to your RefWorks library and sync it with Write-N-Cite.

Tip: In most cases, there is no need to log out of Write-N-Cite when you are not using it. If you are using Write-N-Cite on a public computer without a personal login, you should log out of Write-N-Cite when you complete your work. If someone does gain access to a system with your RefWorks library logged in to Write-N-Cite, they will not be able to change anything in your account since Write-N-Cite doesn’t have any features to edit your items.

Logging In To Write-N-Cite:

1. Click RefWorks from the Microsoft Word ribbon.

2. Click Log In.

3. Click "Flow" and then enter your email address and Flow password and click "Login".

The first time you log in to Write-N-Cite, it will automatically “sync” with your RefWorks library. This may take a few seconds. It is downloading your references and collections. Any time you make changes to your RefWorks items you can click Sync my Database your new and edited items will be added to Write-N-Cite.

During this period, you can still access all of Word’s functionality, but the Write-N-Cite functions will not become active until syncing has finished.

Step 2. Selecting Your Output Style

The first thing you will want to do is select an output style for your document. Any in-text citations or footnotes and your bibliography will be displayed in your document while you write your paper – in the output style you have selected. You can always change the style later if you need to.

1. Click the Style dropdown. You will see a list of RefWorks' recent styles.

2. Click on the style name.

3. You can change your output style and the formatting of your paper at any time by clicking on another Style in the list and selecting a new output style. Access to other Styles can be gained by using Select Other Style at the bottom of the list.

Step 3. Write Your Paper and Inserting Citations or Footnotes and Your Bibliography

Note: You may want to sync your RefWorks library with Write-N-Cite if you have recently added items you want to use in your paper. Click the Sync my database icon to download new or updated items.

When you are ready to insert an in-text citation or footnote into your paper:

1. Click the Insert Citation and Insert New option to launch the insert/edit citation box. If you have previously used Write-N-Cite, you may see some recently selected citations listed above the Insert New option. You can select citations displayed from this list or access all your references from the Insert New option.

2. Once the Insert/Edit Citation box displays, you can access your items by Collection or by searching. The Search box will search every field.

Tip: Use the horizontal scroll bar to see the full title. Right-click on the item and select Show Full Reference Detail to display all fields of information (file attachments are not displayed).

Full Reference View:

3. Click on the item you wish to insert into your paper. You will see a preview of the formatted citation in your current Output Style.

Tip: Add more references to the citation using the plus icon, remove them by using the minus icon, or reorder the references with the up and down arrows in the Compose Citation area.

4. Click OK to insert your formatted citation into your paper.

5. To insert a footnote instead of an in-text citation, click the Make Footnote checkbox in the Edit References area. Once you make a footnote and finish editing the citation, you will not be able to undo this action. However, you can always add a new in-text citation.

6. You can insert your bibliography anywhere in your paper while you are writing. Click Bibliography Options, Insert Bibliography. Note: the bibliography will be inserted wherever the cursor is in your paper.

You can click Remove Bibliography and re-insert if it you need to change the location.

Step 4. Save your formatted paper (you should really save it periodically while you are writing!).

Importing References from Mendeley, Zotero, and Others into Your RefWorks Account

Select the + sign on the top toolbar and choose Import reference:

Mendeley

You can also manually move your Mendeley database. Here’s how:

From Mendeley Desktop, select record(s) and right-click. Select Export, Research Information Systems (*ris).
A dialog box appears for you to select the location where you want to save the file. Type a file name and select a location to save the file.
In RefWorks, click the Add a reference icon, then select Import References
Drag and drop the saved file into RefWorks into the box, or use the link to “select a file from your computer” and upload it.

Zotero

Select references.
Right-click and choose Export Selected Items. Choose RIS. Save the file.
In RefWorks, click the Add a reference icon, then select Import References
Drag and drop the saved file into RefWorks into the box, or use the link to “select a file from your computer” and upload it.

EndNote

You can easily import your EndNote into your RefWorks account:In EndNote, go to Edit > Output Styles > Open Style Manager
Check “RefMan (RIS) Export”.
In your EndNote library, select the references you would like to export.
Go to File > Export and save the file, making sure the output styles field is set to “RefMan (RIS) Export”.
In RefWorks, click the Add a reference icon, then select Import References
Drag and drop the saved file into RefWorks into the box, or use the link to “select a file from your computer” and upload it.

ReadCube

From the library view select the article or articles and right-click to bring up Export Options.
Select Export to RefMan (RIS) file and save the file.
In RefWorks, click the Add a reference icon, then select Import References
Drag and drop the saved file into RefWorks into the box, or use the link to “select a file from your computer” and upload it.

Papers

In your Papers library, highlight the references you want to export.
Under the File menu, choose 'Export...' and choose the Refman RIS option. Save the file.
In RefWorks, click the Add a reference icon, then select Import References
Drag and drop the saved file into RefWorks into the box, or use the link to “select a file from your computer” and upload it.

Installing Write-N-Cite for Microsoft Word

Write-N-Cite is a utility that allows users to run an abbreviated version of RefWorks in Microsoft Word. You can access your references by folder (or sub-folder), by quick search or by all references with the ability to sort by author, title or year.

With Write-N-Cite, you can cite references in a manuscript with just a click and watch your paper format instantly including in-text citations, footnotes, and your bibliography. The utility installs a RefWorks tab in the MS Word ribbon or you can access it from the References tab in Microsoft Word.

Working online or offline is seamless – no need to be connected to the internet – and you can share documents between the Windows and Mac versions of Write-N-Cite seamlessly.

Installing Write-N-Cite:

1. Go to Tools

2. Select Download and Install

3. You will now see a RefWorks Ribbon in Microsoft Word

Create RefWorks Shortcut for Browser

1. Open RefWorks in the desired browser

2. Select the three horizontal dots on the top toolbar.

3. Select Tools

4. Select Install Save to Refworks

5. Slide Save to RefWorks button to the toolbar

6. Now you will see the Save to RefWorks shortcut on the toolbar

Saving To RefWorks Manually

The following is information found in the Adding References Manually box on the New RefWorks: Drag & Drop and Manual references libguide from ProQuest.

To add an item to RefWorks, click the Add a reference icon at the top of the page. If you plan on adding the item to an existing collection, click on the collection first, then click the Add a reference icon.

You'll have three options:

Upload document
Import references
Create new reference

You can drag and drop a document (.pdf, .doc, etc.) directly into the Upload document box to upload an existing MS Office, Open Office or .pdf file from your computer. Only 1 document per item allowed.

From the second option, you can also import a set of references from a text file in the formats offered. This information was covered in the Importing References from Mendeley, Zotero, and Others into Refworks box found on this RefWorks libguide page.

Using Create new reference you can manually enter your bibliographic data or click and drag a file to be imported as well.

Tip: If you have multiple documents to add to RefWorks, you can select and drag them all at once. RefWorks will create separate items for each.

Regardless of which option you choose, RefWorks uses its document recognition feature to attempt to auto-complete the reference fields on the page. RefWorks’s document recognition feature is compiled from a combination of authoritative citation sources, ProQuest databases, and end-user generated content and is continually revised and optimized to deliver the best possible results.

You can change the reference type, manually edit the reference fields and additional fields can be added using the Add more fields drop-down box at the bottom of the page.

If you do not have a file to upload, simply populate the blank fields by typing in the necessary information.

Once you have manually added your item using one of these options, click Save and your item will be added to your RefWorks library.

Using RefWorks With Google Docs

Write-N-Cite can be used with Google Docs. You will need to download the Tool by doing the following:

1. Go to Tools

2. Select Get Google Add-On

RefWorks Shortcut in Google Scholar

1. Do a search in Google Scholar and select the Cite shortcut

2. In the Cite pop-up window select the desired citation style and then RefWorks