Skip to main content
Roosevelt University in Chicago, Schaumburg and Online - Logo

Math 232

Discussion of Scholarly Resources

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article: A guide from North Carolina State University Libraries which dissects a scholarly article.

 

Google Scholar Search

Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the Web. A drawback is that not all articles are free.

Scholarly Article Databases

Academic Search Complete: Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. (In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.)

Business Source Premier: Provides full text for more than 2,300 scholarly business journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. With full text back to 1965, and searchable back as far as 1998, this database covers all business fields.

GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources): The Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development.

JSTOR: A growing full-text archive of 306 scholarly journals offering complete back runs from the very first issues to a "moving wall" of 2-5 years before the current issue. Includes 31 Music journals. (Note: Microsoft Internet Explorer users with the Google Toolbar loaded may need to click on its pop-up blocker in order to view PDFs.)

MathSciNet: Database of reviews, abstracts and bibiographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Citations and reviews of the world's current mathematical literature since 1940. Journals, conference proceedings and books of mathematics research are covered.

Proquest Social Science Journals: This database includes over 535 titles, with more than 310 available in full text. Disciplines represented range from anthropology, sociology, political science to communication, education, criminology, demography, economics and more.

Sage Journals: Interdisciplinary database offering access to journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Includes key public administration journals like the American Review of Public Administration.

Wilson OmniFile Full Text Select: A multidisciplinary, 100% full-text database providing every article published in more than 2,700 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, across many disciplines, including Education Full Text.

Statistics

Statistical Yearbook : The Statistical Yearbook provides in a single volume a comprehensive compilation of internationally available statistics on social and economic conditions and activities, at world, regional and national levels, for an appropriate historical period. It is prepared by the Statistics Division, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, of the United Nations Secretariat.

 

Websites

CIA World Factbook: Select a country and the facts you would like to know about the country.

The Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD): Dedicated to promote policies to help social and economic well-being for people world-wide.

U.N. Human Development Reports: Provides statistics regarding gender development and inequality, poverty index and more for countries all over the world.

World Bank: Go to topics tab and examine poverty, poverty analysis, measuring poverty, or measuring inequality.

World Trade Organization: Information for key "infrastructure services (like transportation, telecommunication, finance and insurance) for over 90 economies.