Skip to main content
Roosevelt University in Chicago, Schaumburg and Online - Logo

PHSC 105

Discussion of Scholarly Resources

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article: A guide from North Carolina State University Libraries which dissects a scholarly article.

 

Google Scholar Search

Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the Web. A drawback is that not all articles are free.

Scholarly Article Databases

Academic Search Complete: Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. (In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.)

Environmental Studies in Video: This streaming site will contain 500 hours of film covering all realms of environmental studies, particularly ethics, policy, economy, law, sociology, planning, and environmental science.

Greenfile: Collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles including all aspects of human impact to the environment such as global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, etc.

GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources): The Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development.

JSTOR: A growing full-text archive of 306 scholarly journals offering complete back runs from the very first issues to a "moving wall" of 2-5 years before the current issue. Includes 31 Music journals. (Note: Microsoft Internet Explorer users with the Google Toolbar loaded may need to click on its pop-up blocker in order to view PDFs.)

Project Muse: A full-text database offering access to scholarly humanities journals from prestigious university presses and scholarly societies. The database currently includes over 140,000 articles from 390 journals.

Sage Journals: Interdisciplinary database offering access to journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Includes key public administration journals like the American Review of Public Administration.

Wilson OmniFile Full Text Select: A multidisciplinary, 100% full-text database providing every article published in more than 2,700 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, across many disciplines, including Education Full Text.

Open Access Journals on the Web

Directory of Open Access Journals: Search scholarly journals by title or topic.

Find Articles: Search 10-million-plus articles from "leading academic, industry and general interest publications."

Free Medical Journals: Medical journals that are free now and those that are free 1-6 months after publication. You may browse by title or by specialty area.

High Wire Press: Hosted by Stanford University Libraries, HighWire Press provides more than 1.3 million full-text, peer-reviewed articles from 900-plus journals.

Public Library of Science: The Public Library of Science is an excellent open access site for biological and medical research articles.