Research Guides: PHIL 219: Finding Background Information

CREDO Online Religion Reference Sources

Atlas of the Bible, Andromeda
The first atlas of the Bible to treat its subject geographically rather than historically, this unique work features the main biblical sites, such as Galilee, the Judean desert and the Jerusalem hills, illustrated with colour maps.
more...less...
The book opens with a description of the Bible, explains how it came to be composed and how it has been transmitted to us through medieval manuscript copies and modern translations. The second section of the text provides an outline of the historical background of the
Bloomsbury Dictionary of Myth
This work retells the world's major myths and legends, and gives a clear reference guide to who was who, where was where and what was what.
more...less...
In addition to a significant number of A-Z entries of myths, motifs, locations and characters, there are generic essays and entries about the various traditions, organized by location. The essays discuss the kinds of myth each area has produced, and their relationship to local geography, culture and religions.
Book of Bible Quotations
Quotations from the Bible are among the best known of all in the English language. This book has been compiled for reference, for practical helpfulness and for the sheer enjoyment of browsing through the Bible’s riches.
Critical Terms for Religious Studies
Each entry in this volune provides a concise history of a critical term, explores the issues raised by the term, and puts the term to use in an analysis of a religious work, practice, or event.
more...less...
Moving across Judaism, Christianity, Hinduism, Buddhism, Islam, and Native American and Mayan religions, contributors explore terms ranging from experience, territory, and image, to God, sacrifice, and transgression.
Critical Terms for the Study of Buddhism
This volume provides a unique introduction to Buddhism by examining categories essential for a nuanced understanding of its traditions.
more...less...
Each of the essays here shows students how a fundamental term - from art to word - illuminates the practice of Buddhism, both in traditional Buddhist societies and in the realms of modernity. Apart from Buddha, the list of terms in this collection deliberately includes none that are intrinsic to the religion. Instead, the contributors explore terms that are important for many fields and that invite interdisciplinary reflection. Through incisive discussions of topics ranging from practice, power, and pedagogy to ritual, history, sex, and death, the authors offer new directions for the understanding of Buddhism, taking constructive and sometimes polemical positions in an effort both to demonstrate the shortcomings of assumptions about the religion and the potential power of revisionary approaches.
Dictionary of Hindu Lore and Legend
The Dictionary of Hindu Lore and Legend provides a large number of accessible, informative and authoritative entries to answer any major question about Hinduism, its mythology, practices, customs and laws.
Dictionary of Jewish Lore and Legend
The Dictionary of Jewish Lore and Legend provides a clear and systematic guide to a rich heritage of legend, folklore and tradition that is crucial to understanding Judaism.
more...less...
t describes the main characters and the tales that have grown up around them; Jewish methods of Biblical interpretation; the framework of Jewish law, literature and poetry; the festivals of the Jewish Year; the different languages and sub-groups within the Jewish community; and the many countries in which Jews have lived, as well as the importance of the Holy Land. A mystical world is revealed — one populated by angels and demons, sages and Kabbalists.
The Holy Bible, King James Version
The King James or 'Authorized' Version was commissioned in 1603 when James became King of England. It was first published in 1611 and attained a unique authority, gradually superseding all previous versions.
MacMillan Dictionary of the Bible
The MacMillan Dictionary of the Bible is for anyone who wants a quick-reference guide to the Bible. Entries consist of the main people, places, customs, religious and cultural aspects, events, and institutions of the Bible.
Need to Know? Islam
The aim of this book is to explain the principles of Islam and to show how Muslims strive to bring God-consciousness (taqwa) into every area of their daily lives, from the important and profound to the mundane and simple tasks; and in this devotion and urge to serve, striving for the greater pleasure of their Lord, they find their own fulfillment and happiness.
The New Encyclopedia of Judaism
Judaism implies faith and beliefs, complex practices and a whole way of life.
more...less...
These are mirrored in this encyclopedia which includes hundreds of special articles covering subjects in analytical depth, as well as short biographies of the major figures in the story of Judaism.Issues of practical interest today are give special attention, such as the article MEDICAL ETHICS which relates to Abortion, Artificial insemination, Autopsies, Birth control, Euthanasia, Surrogate mother...
The Qur'an
he Koran, the holy scripture of Islam, is the record of Muhammad's oral teaching delivered between the years immediately preceding the Hegira in AD 622 and the Prophet's death in AD 632.
more...less...
Abdullah Yusuf Ali's translation of the Qur'an was first published in 1934 in Lahore, Pakistan. Since 1934 his translation has gone into numerous reprints.
Who's Who in Christianity
Who's Who in Christianity is an invaluable reference guide to the leading men and women who have influenced the course of Christian history, including the founding fathers, saints, popes, monarchs, philanthropists, theologians, missionaries, and heretics.
more...less...
The book encompasses both Eastern and Western churches and the lives and opinions of personalities who have shaped the past twenty Christian centuries, from Jesus of Galilee to Pope John Paul II, and from Paul of Tarsus to Mother Teresa.
Who's Who in Classical Mythology
Who's Who in Classical Mythology is the most complete and detailed reference book of its kind.
more...less...
Authoritative, entertaining and enlightening, this is the definitive biographical guide to Greek and Roman mythology.
Who's Who in the New Testament
more...less...
Who's Who in the New Testament is comprehensive and includes all the people mentioned by name in the New Testament as well as some who remain unnamed like the centurions at Capernaum and Calvary, together with certain political and religious groups, such as the Sadducees and the Essenes.
Who's Who in the Old Testament
more...less...
Who's Who in the Old Testament is the definitive biographical guide to the Old Testament. It contains numerous entries, with the complete historical, geographical and archaeological context of each entry (see, for example, David and Joshua). Its accessible and easy format makes it an invaluable resource for anyone with an interest in the bible.

Sage eReference Online Resources

Encyclopedia of African Religion
As the first comprehensive work to assemble ideas, concepts, discourses, and extensive essays in this vital area, the Encyclopedia of African Religion explores such topics as deities and divinities, the nature of humanity, the end of life, the conquest of fear, and the quest for attainment of harmony with nature and other humans.
Encyclopedia of Religious and Spiritual Development
Encyclopedia of Religious and Spiritual Development is the first reference work to focus on the developmental process of religion and spirituality across the human life span. Spiritual development is an important part of human development that has links to identity development, moral development, and civic engagement. This innovative Encyclopedia offers insight into the characteristics of people and their contexts that interact to influence religious and spiritual development over time.
Encyclopedia of Time: Science, Philosophy, Theology, & Culture
Surveying the major facts, concepts, theories, and speculations that infuse our present comprehension of time, the Encyclopedia of Time: Science, Philosophy, Theology, & Culture explores the contributions of scientists, philosophers, theologians, and creative artists from ancient times to the present. By drawing together into one collection ideas from scholars around the globe and in a wide range of disciplines, this Encyclopedia will provide readers with a greater understanding of and appreciation for the elusive phenomenon experienced as time.

Gale Resources

Proper Use of Wikipedia

Main site: Wikipedia

How it should be used:

Gather background information
Generate search terms
Find other resources in bibliography/reference section

Cannot be sited because:

Currency (No guarantee when specific information has been updated)
Authority (Authors cannot be identified; not necessarily experts)
Point of View (Do not know if author has bias)