Research Guides: Professional Organizations: Databases

Search The Library Catalog

APA online
APA Exposed: Everything You Always Wanted to Know About APA Format but Were Afraid to Ask
by Wendy K. Mages
Online, narrated tutorial, from Harvard's Graduate School for Education, covering the basics of APA style.
Citation Style for Research Papers
Long Island University Libraries' guide to APA, Turabian, MLA, Chicago, and AMA styles.
Cornell University APA
Includes odd source formats such as tv episodes, audio tapes and blog entries.
Diana Hacker's Research and Documentation Online Humanities
Diana Hacker's guide includes examples for print and online sources for MLA, APA, CBE, and Chicago styles.
Documentation Guidelines: Citing Sources Within Your Paper
Duke University Libraries' guide to MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian styles.
ONLINE! A Reference Guide to Using Internet Sources
Andrew Harnack & Eugene Kleppinger's guide to citing online sources for MLA, APA, CBE, and Chicago styles.

Open Music Library
Curated by a community of music scholars, students, teachers and librarians, the Open Music Library brings together peer-reviewed journal articles, books and music scores from the world’s digital collections.

	GROVE MUSIC ONLINE The leading online resource for music research.


	RILM International Repository of Music Literature [1967- Index of over 10,000 journals, dissertations, festschriften, conference proceedings, etc. Some full text.

	IPA SOURCE The web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.

	JSTOR A full-text archive of 306 scholarly journals [50 music titles] offering back runs of journals from the very first issues to a "moving wall" of 2-5 years before the current issue.


	MLA International Bibliography MLA International Bibliography is an index to books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.


	MUSIC INDEX 1962- Comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature (Paper copy 1949-2001 in Library).


	OPERA AMERICA Company, Performer, Member directories, online resources, job listings, educational materials. For access email request.

	OXFORD MUSIC ONLINE Access to Grove Music Online, Oxford Companion to Music, Oxford Dictionary of Music, and Encyclopedia of Popular Music (4th ed. 2006). [about]


	PLAY INDEX Find citations to some 31,000 plays published individually or in collections from 1949


	PROJECT MUSE Full text access to current peer-reviewed content from over 270 interdisciplinary, prestigious humanities and social science journals.

Two research tools that you may find useful:

LibX: A FireFox (web browswer) plug-in that allows you to search for items in our Library collections from any web page. It allows you to search for books, articles, and other kinds of research resources in InvestiGator, Google Scholar, WorldCat and elsewhere right from the webpage where you found it (like Amazon, Google and Yahoo, Worldcat, etc.).
Zotero: A FireFox (web browswer) plug-in that allows you to collect, manage, and cite your research sources. It lives right where you do your work — in the web browser itself.

Metropolitan Opera On Demand
Enjoy instant access to more than 600 full-length Met performances with the online streaming database for college and university libraries.

Richard Schwegel, Director 312-341-3648

Deborah Morris, Assistant Librarian & Cataloger 312-341-2328

Anita Hwang, Library Technical Assistant/Circulation Manager 312-341-2136

Carrie May / Chief Clerk 312-341-3651