Research Guides: Professional Organizations: Chamber Music

Welcome

Welcome to the Chamber Music Lib Guide

This guide is designed to familiarize you with what the collections in the Performing Arts Library have to offer in the area of Chamber Music and where to find them. It also includes some basic information about research terminology and the music collections.

Reference Items

Chamber Music : A Listener's Guide by Keller, James M.
Call Number: ML1100 .K45 2011
Chamber Music : A Research and Information Guide by Baron, John H.
Call Number: REF ML128.C4 B37 2010
The Literature of Chamber Music by Cohn, Arthur
Call Number: REF. ML1100 .C63 1997
Chamber music/Bio-bibliography.
Chamber Music : An International Guide to Works and their Instrumentation by Rangel-Ribeiro, Victor
Call Number: REF. ML128.C4 R3 1993
A tool for locating chamber music literature for a specific combination of instruments.
Guide to Chamber Music by Berger, Melvin
Call Number: ML1100 .B45 1985
American Piano Trios : A Resource Guide by Drucker, Arno
Call Number: REF ML128.C4 D78 1999
The Piano in Chamber Ensemble: An Annotated Guide by Hinson, Maurice
Call Number: REF ML128.C4 H5 2006
The Twentieth-Century String Quartet : An Historical Introduction and Catalogue by Lawrence, Ian
Call Number: REF ML128.C4 L37 2001
The Cambridge Companion to the String Quartet by Stowell, Robin
Call Number: ML1160 .C36 2003
Nineteenth-Century Chamber Music by Hefling, Stephen E.
Call Number: ML1104 .N56 1998
20th Century Chamber Music by James McCalla
Call Number: ML1106 .M33 2003
The Piano Quartet and Quintet by Basil Smallman
Call Number: ML1165 .S59 1994
The String Quartet by Griffiths, Paul
Call Number: ML1160 .G7
The String Quartet, from its Beginnings to Franz Schubert by Konold, Wulf
Call Number: ML1160 .K6513 1983

General Literature About Chamber Music

Biographies

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Classical Musicians
Call Number: REF. ML105 .S612 1997
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians
Call Number: REF. ML105 .B16 2001

The following dictionaries provide biographical information on musicians. Oxford Music Online, also includes extensive articles. Most print biographies may be located under the call number, ML410 or by searching the library catalog using the person's name as a SUBJECT.

Journals and Newspaper

Lexis Nexis Academic Universe
Full-text content of major U.S. Newspaper
New York Times
A full-image archive that contains the entire historical run of the New York Times from 1851-present

Analysis

Analyses of Nineteenth- and Twentieth-Century Music, 1940-2000 by Hoek, D. J.
Call Number: REF ML113 .H695 2007
Features over 9,000 references to analyses of works by more than 1,000 composers of the 19th and 20th centuries. References include books, articles, and dissertations and address form, harmony, melody, rhythm, and other structural elements of musical compositions.
Music Criticism : An Annotated Guide to the Literature by Diamond, Harold J.
Call Number: REF. ML113 .D5
Cites and describes selected analyses of Western art music in English-language books, articles, and dissertations. Each annotation describes the nature and level of the analysis.

Analysis Index by University of Tennessee
The Online Analysis Index provides access to program notes and descriptions or analyses of musical compositions in books owned by the UT Music Library of which Roosevelt will own many. The books indexed are located primarily in LC classifications MT90 - MT145. This index does not duplicate the indexing available in Harold Diamond's book, Music Analyses: An Annotated Guide to the Literature
Ensemble! by Abram Loft
Call Number: MT140.L58 1992
ISBN: 0931340454
Publication Date: 1992-07-01
Offers a good deal of background information on selected repertoire.

Concert Guides and Program Notes

Program notes and surveys of concert repertoire can be useful tools when writing about music.

Cleveland Orchestra Program Notes Index

An index of the complete program notes (and subsequently, the performances) of the Cleveland Orchestra. The database is produced from the actual programs, held by the Robinson Music Library.
Chicago Symphony Orchestra Program Notes (current year)
Chicago Symphony Orchestra Program Notes
REF. MT125 .C5
The volume for the 50th season, 1940/41, includes "Repertoire, 1891-1941" and "Soloists, 1891-1941."