While it is an easy matter to find analysis of Bach fugues or Beethoven symphonies in music literature,
researching shows and particular songs is more difficult as there is much less
written about them. This guide provides a few tools that will help you.
Whether you need to know about a specific composer, from birth and death dates to a chronology of his or her works; the location of the first metropolitan production of a show; or a discarded alternate title, you'll find the answer here.
An excellent first stop. Sections include: general histories;surveys; film musicals; creators and works; performers; performance studies; periodicals; sets and series of printed material; discographies; and recorded anthologies
New Resources on Musicals in the I-Share Library Catalog
Indexes over 655 international music periodical titles. Topics include past and present personalities, the history of music, forms and types of music, musical instruments from the earliest times to modern electronic instruments.
Project MUSE Standard Collection offers full text access to current peer-reviewed content from over 270 interdisciplinary, prestigious humanities and social science journals published by many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. The Standard Collection contains full text of most, but not all, journals in the Premium Collection.
This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 4,515 scholarly journals, including more than 3,630 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Premier offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.