Research Guides: Databases and Journals: Home

Databases (Journals Below)

Bibliographie des Musikschrifttums
BMS indexes monographs, articles and reviews from journals, Festschriften, congress proceedings, yearbooks, anthologies and essays from critical reports. Main sources for the BMS editorial staff are national bibliographies, journals, monographs and subject bibliographies. Furthermore, contributions from journals with an interdiscplinary view on music are considered for inclusion. We annually check some 2,500 sources and add approximately 10,000 articles and reviews. Bibliographic records are often amended by a summary. Our analog data from the period 1950-1975 are already revised and converted. BMS is continuously expanded.
Connect: Open Educational Resources
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.
EBSCOHost Databases
This link provides access to the EBSCO Homepage of the EBSCO databases to which the RU Library subscribes. From this Homepage you can select various databases to search simultaneously.
Education Research Complete
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for more than 500 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers.
ERIC (Via Ebscohost)
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, is a national information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966. EBSCO provides links to recent "ED" documents.
Merlot: Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching
The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder webpages, together with associated comments, and bookmark collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material.
MIT Open Courseware
OCW is a free and open publication of material from thousands of MIT courses, covering the entire MIT curriculum. That's every MIT department and degree program, and ranging from the introductory to the most advanced graduate level. Each OCW course includes a syllabus, some instructional material (such as lecture notes or a reading list), and some learning activities (such as assignments or exams). Many courses also have complete video lectures, free online textbooks, and faculty teaching insights. While some OCW content is custom-created for online use, most of it comes straight from the MIT classroom.
Openstax CNX
Discover learning materials in an Open Space. View and share free educational material in small modules that can be organized as courses, books, reports or other academic assignments.
Sage Journals Online
Sage Journals provides online full-text access to more than 485 scholarly journals in business, humanities, medicine, science, social sciences, and technology. Coverage varies from the first date of publication through present or from 1999 through present.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides students with exposure to peer reviewed scholarly research with a reference resource of over 1,500 academic journals and other content.

Journals

Action, Criticism and Theory for Music Education

American Music Teacher (1963- )

American String Teacher (1973- )

American Education Policy Review (1992- (-18 months)

Australian Journal of Music Education (2007- )

Brass Bulletin (1971-2003)

British Journal of Music Education (2001 - (-1 year)

Bulletin of the Council for Research in Music Education (1963- )

Choral Journal (1972- )

Clarinet (1988-2015)

Contributions to Music Education (2005- )

Electronic Journal of Music in Education (1988- )

Flutist quarterly (2005- )

General music today (1999- )

Hellenic Journal of Music, Education and Culture (2010- )

Horn call (2006- )

Instrumentalist (1954- )

International journal of music education (1984-2000, 2004-)

JAZZed: The Jazz Educator's Magazine (2009- )

Journal of historical research in music education (2005-2015)

Journal of music teacher education (1999- )

Journal of music, technology and education (2008- )

Journal of music theory pedagogy (1989- )

Journal of research in music education (1957- )

Journal of singing (1996- )

Kodály envoy (2007- )

Music education research (1999 - (-18 months)

Music education technology (2004-2007)

National Association of Teachers of Singing Bulletin (1955-1962)

National Association of College Wind and Percussion Instructors Bulletin (1977- )

Orff echo (1996- )

Percussive notes (1967-1989)

Philosophy of music education review (1999- )

Research and issues in music education (2007-2013)

Research studies in music education (1999- )

School Band and Orchestra

Strad (1958- )

Teaching music (1993-2010)

Triad - Ohio Music Education Association (2005- )

Update : applications of research in music education (1998- )

Victorian journal of music education (2007- )

The Voice of Chorus America (2006- )

Contact Information

Robin Hofstetter