Research Guides: McNair Scholars Program: Finding Scholarly Resources

Places to Look for Scholarly Research

The first place to look is Academic Search Complete
Proquest Central Database :
- Filter by Scholarly
- Choose last 5 years
The second place to look is Roosevelt library subject-related database :
- Filter by Scholarly
- Choose last 5 years
The third place to look is General Library Search Tool
- Use Advanced Search
- Filter by Scholarly & last 5 years
- Use other filters
  1. Journal Articles
  2. Subject Terms

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This link to Google Scholar connects you to the full-text of articles provided through RU Library journal subscriptions.
Look for... "Full-Text @ My Library"
Google Scholar provides a broad search that includes selected research papers, professional society and interest group publications, conference reports, book summaries, and media reports. Results include abstracts and citations, drafts, works in progress, reprints, and peer-reviewed journal articles. Not everything in Google Scholar is free.

Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the Web. A drawback is that not all articles are free.

Open Access Journals on the Web

Directory of Open Access Journals: Search scholarly journals by title or topic.

Find Articles: Search 10-million-plus articles from "leading academic, industry and general-interest publications."

Free Medical Journals: Medical journals that are free now and those that are free 1-6 months after publication. You may browse by title or by specialty area.

High Wire Press: Hosted by Stanford University Libraries, HighWire Press provides more than 1.3 million full-text, peer-reviewed articles from 900-plus journals.

Public Library of Science: The Public Library of Science is an excellent open-access site for biological and medical research articles.

Scholarly Article Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
ERIC (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, is a national information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966. EBSCO provides links to recent "ED" documents.
ERIC via ProQuest This link opens in a new window
This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Womens Studies International, produced by NISC, covers the core disciplines in Womens Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 871,000 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to present. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles including all aspects of human impact to the environment such as global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, etc.
The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides students with exposure to peer reviewed scholarly research with a reference resource of over 1,500 academic journals and other content.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
LGBT Life with Full Text contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 120 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs and books. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities
Wilson OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary, 100% full-text database providing every article published in more than 2,700 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, across many disciplines, including Education Full Text.