Research Guides: HOSM 201: Developing a Researchable Question

Developing Your Research

A. "Developing a Research or Guiding Question" (by Arizona State University): This video will help you understand the difference between a topic and a research question. It will also help you develop good research questions.

Check for Understanding

B. "Generating and Using Keywords" (by Arizona State University): This video explains how to determine keywords/concepts. It also explains the importance of finding synonyms or related concepts.

Finding Background Information

Newspapers

Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new window
Complete full-text of Chicago Tribune from 1989 to date.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides selected full text for more than 20 national and international newspapers and over 398 regional U.S. newspapers.
Features full text of radio and television news transcripts as well as indexing and abstracts for many other national newspapers.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full-text access from 1980 to present.
Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition) This link opens in a new window
Considered to be the preeminent publication for business news and information on financial markets worldwide. Full-text access for 1984 to present.

Popular Magazines

Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
This database explores broad current events and controversial topics from a global perspective. Information is arranged in topical “portals.” These portals provide a wide range of materials, including a brief overview of the topic, reference sources for background information, global news articles, images and videos, podcasts, primary source documents, scholarly journal articles, and more.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
The premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

Subject-Specific Encyclopedias/Databases

Biography - In Context This link opens in a new window
Discover the world's most influential people by searching narrative biographies, news, magazine, and multimedia content.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An online collection of many reference books covering a wide variety of subjects, with entries covering such subjects as medicine, art, technology, law and more.
Credo Reference is an online collection of many reference books covering a wide variety of subjects, with entries covering such subjects as medicine, art, technology, law and more, all aggregated and integrated in a robust search engine.
Current Affairs In Video This link opens in a new window
Features award-winning films and documentaries emphasizing detailed analysis and discussion of the critical political issues of the day.
Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window
Access a range of periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
Economics and Theory This link opens in a new window
Discover content useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, and more.
Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
Gain insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy. Best for educators, administrators, and education students.
Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new window
Investigate environmental issues with diverse perspectives from the scientific community, policymakers, and corporate interests.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
An online full-text collection of valuable reference books in multiple subject areas; includes many multidisciplinary reference e-books, including some with primary source documents; can be browsed by subject or searched by keyword.
Individual titles can also be accessed from the RU Library Catalog.
Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Discover balanced coverage of topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals.
Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Search a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
The richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
Information Science This link opens in a new window
Access articles covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology. Updated daily.
LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
Search index of prestigious and comprehensive legal content. Endorsed by the The American Association of Law Libraries.
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine This link opens in a new window
Access academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine.
Religion and Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Research the impact of religion on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Updated daily.
Sage eReference General Search This link opens in a new window
Provides access to many encyclopedias in a variety of academic disciplines, including Criminology & Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Geography, History, Social Issues, and Sociology.
War and Terrorism This link opens in a new window
Gain valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale.
Women's Issues (Contemporary) This link opens in a new window
Find timely and historically relevant content on issues that influence womens lives across the globe.

United Nations iLibrary
Books, Papers, and Statistics organized by themes such as Drug Crime & Terrorism, Economic & Social Development, Population Growth, Environment & Climate Change, Human Rights & Refugees, Population & Demography, Public Health, Women & Gender Issues, and more. The site can be searched by theme, by country, or by a combination of the two.