Research Guides: FYS 101: Finding Background Information

Subject-Specific Encyclopedias/Databases

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An online collection of many reference books covering a wide variety of subjects, with entries covering such subjects as medicine, art, technology, law and more.
Credo Reference is an online collection of many reference books covering a wide variety of subjects, with entries covering such subjects as medicine, art, technology, law and more, all aggregated and integrated in a robust search engine.
Current Affairs In Video This link opens in a new window
Features award-winning films and documentaries emphasizing detailed analysis and discussion of the critical political issues of the day.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
The richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
Sage eReference General Search This link opens in a new window
Provides access to many encyclopedias in a variety of academic disciplines, including Criminology & Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Geography, History, Social Issues, and Sociology.

United Nations iLibrary
Books, Papers, and Statistics organized by themes such as Drug Crime & Terrorism, Economic & Social Development, Population Growth, Environment & Climate Change, Human Rights & Refugees, Population & Demography, Public Health, Women & Gender Issues, and more. The site can be searched by theme, by country, or by a combination of the two.

Newspapers

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides selected full text for more than 20 national and international newspapers and over 398 regional U.S. newspapers.
Features full text of radio and television news transcripts as well as indexing and abstracts for many other national newspapers.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full-text access from 1980 to present.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of 80 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition) This link opens in a new window
Considered to be the preeminent publication for business news and information on financial markets worldwide. Full-text access for 1984 to present.

Pop Culture Resources

Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
'Pop Culture Universe: Icon, Idols, Ideas' is a combined digital library of books, book chapters, encyclopedia entries, and images on American and world popular culture from the 1920s to the present. An authoritative resource for all levels of researchers, Pop Culture Universe advances the study of popular culture and popular history. Search a variety of subject areas ranging from business, fashion, TV, music, literature, sports, youth culture, or search by time periods, people, or places.

IMDB: Information and news about movies, TV shows, celebrities, and more.

Know Your Meme: Website for memes, videos, forums, etc. about pop culture topics. There is an indication of whether or not the memes have been confirmed.

Memes.com: Searchable, and organized by Featured, Random, Most Popular, and Community.

Twitter: Home site where you can find what is trending in Sports, News, Music, Entertainment, Lifestyle, and more. There is also a search feature.

YouTube: Home page for searching archived or trending videos.

FYS 101

Use of Wikipedia

Evaluating Websites

Blogs

Subject-Specific Encyclopedias/Databases

Newspapers

Pop Culture Resources