Research Guides: EDUC 101: Finding Scholarly Research

Suggested Databases

Research Question: How does playing video games affect teenage girls?

	Concept 1	AND	Concept 2	AND	Concept 3
Extract the major concepts from your research question.	teenage		girls		“video games”
List alternatives for each concept: These can be synonyms, or they can be specific examples of the concept Use single words or short phrases. Find additional terms in abstracts and summaries of articles.	Search Terms		Search Terms		Search Terms
	adolescent		female		“online games”
	OR		OR		OR
	teens		“teenage girls”		Nintendo
	OR		OR		OR

	OR		OR		OR

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
ERIC (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, is a national information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966. EBSCO provides links to recent "ED" documents.

ProQuest Education Journals This link opens in a new window
Gives users access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. Many titles are indexed in the ERIC database.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides students with exposure to peer reviewed scholarly research with a reference resource of over 1,500 academic journals and other content.

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This link to Google Scholar connects you to the full-text of articles provided through RU Library journal subscriptions.
Look for... "Full-Text @ My Library"
Google Scholar provides a broad search that includes selected research papers, professional society and interest group publications, conference reports, book summaries, and media reports. Results include abstracts and citations, drafts, works in progress, reprints, and peer-reviewed journal articles. Not everything in Google Scholar is free.

Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the Web. A drawback is that not all articles are free.